University Football League

UCU win their 1st ever University Football League title


Kaye Kizito’s brace inspired Uganda Christian University (UCU) to its first-ever Pepsi University Football League title.

Kizito opened the scoring for UCU in the 10th minute when he truck in a ball received from an Eric Wadribo drop ball.

Still, in the first half, UCU thought they had doubled their advantage when Joseph Kakembo had a goal disallowed for offside after a good cross from Sharif Lubega.

In the second half, UCU doubled their lead through their lethal striker Kaye Kizito who scored his second goal in the 55th minute for a brace on the day.

Isaaya Sabiiti pulled one back for St. Lawrence when he caught St. UCU’s goalkeeper helpless to make it 2-1.

In the last 10 minutes of the game St Lawrence tried to level the matters up but they were unlucky on the day not to have come through.

The two finalists, St. Lawrence and UCU were all playing their 1st ever University Football League final.

At the Semis, St. Lawerence knocked out record finalists Uganda Martyr’s University, Nkozi while, UCU knocked out Bugema University who had knocked the defending champions Kyambongo University at the quarterfinals.

Line ups

UCU – Derrick Were, Sharif Lubega, Gerald Mayombwe, Francis Jurua, Eric Wadribo, James Jerome Semambo, Joseph Kakembo, Fred Atuhwera, Hannington Ampeire, Anthony Male, Rodgers Kukundakwe, Kaye Kizito Ezra

St. Lawerence – Musa Gitta, George Kiryowa, Tito Ssematimba, Umar Kayemba, Baziri Nkongwe, Ibrahim Kasule, Ali Bayo, Colline Seruwu, Missi Ssemugera, Farouk Ssemukutu, Saddam Semaganda

Past Winners

2018 – Kyambogo University
2017 – Uganda Martyrs University
2016 – Kampala University
2015 – MUBS
2014 – MUBS
2013 – Kampala University
2012 – Makerere University

Henry Peter Mutebi

Lugazi Municipal extends winning streak to three as Kiyinda Boys stumbles

Previous article

Exclusive Interview: Brian Ssenyondo speaks on return to Mbarara City

Next article


Comments are closed.