Senior Challenge Cup

Kizza, Kasozi lead Uganda to 3rd consecutive win in CECAFA


KCCA FC’s duo of Nicolas Kasozi and Mustafa Kiiza scored Uganda’s 2-0 win against Eritrea to ensure the Cranes go through to the semifinals of the CECAFA senior challenge cup with maximum points from the 3 group games played so far.

Head Coach Mcknistry made nine changes to the team today maintaining only his skipper Halid lwalilwa and Mustafa Kizza in his starting line up.

McKinstry made a number of changes to the starting XI of the cranes but managed to maintain Halid Lwalilwa and Kizza Mustafa against Eritrea Burundi in the CECAFA Cup | Courtesy photo

The first stanza of the game ended in a goalless draw but the cranes showed more intention for the result by dominating the possession and the game’s proceedings.

Cranes first goal came in the 61st minute through midfielder Nicholas Kasozi whose shot from a long distance beat the Eritreans’ man in between the stick’s abilities to give the tournaments hosts a lead.

The cranes continued pressing until when they got a freekick out the penalty area which Mustafa took and the resulting ball was handled by an Eritrean defender.

The referee did no mistake but to point at the penalty spot where defender Mustafa Kizza stood firm to double the Cranes’ lead in the 80th minute.

The cranes have now qualified for the semifinals after grabbing their third straight win in the three games they have played in group A so far.

In the other game played on the day, Burundi surfered a second straight loss in the tournament after losing to Djibouti in only their second game of the tournament and it was Mahdi Houssein who netted for the winning side.

Djibouti have now moved second in Group A, with four points from their two games so far.

Line ups used

Uganda XI: Joel Mutakubwa (GK), Mustafa Kizza, Halid Lwaliwa (c), Paul Mbowa, Nicholas Kasozi, Viane Ssekajugo, Mukwala Steven, Ben Ocen, Mustafa Mujuzi, Muzamiru Mutyaba, AbdulKarim Watambala

Subs: Lukwago Charles (GK), Paul Willa, John Revita, Shafic Kagimu, Joel Madondo, Fahad Bayo, Joakim Ojera, Allan Okello, Anukani Bright

Eritrean XI: Kibrom Halle (GK), Debyen hintsfab, Robel Teklemicheal (c), Ali Suleiman Ibrahim, Isayas Goytom, Abdelelom Teklezghi, Abel Okbay Solomon, Filmon Gebreyohannes, Micheal Gebremesqel, Robel Kidane, Filmon Semere

Subs: Abdulahi Kelifa (GK), Eyob Weldeyohannes, Nahom Mehari, Nahom Tedese Mekonen, Biniam Adhanom, Yoseif Tekleab, Henok Girmay, Mubarek Klifa, Ismael Jahar

Henry Peter Mutebi

Muwonge names 20 man squad for COPA-Dar es salaam

Previous article

JKL ignites in overtime to claim second consecutive title against UCU Lady Canons

Next article


Comments are closed.