JKL ignites in overtime to claim second consecutive title against UCU Lady Canons


JKL Lady Dolphins are the 2019 FUBA NBL women’s champions following a hard fought 62-55 win over the resilient UCU Lady Canons in the final game of the best of seven series at the Lugogo Indoor Arena, Kampala on Wednesday evening.

The Lady Dolphins who led 16-11 after the opening ten minutes scored 11 points in the second quarter to take a 27-22 lead into halftime at a high crowded MTN arena free entrance game.

In the third quarter, UCU did their level best to cut the points deficit but Hope Akello and Ritah Imanishimwe increased pressure on the shooting peddle to propel the Dolphins into a 7 points lead going into the final frame of the game.

Zainah Lokwameri and Rose Akon combined for 13 points in the fourth quarter to complete a dream comeback for UCU Lady Canons and level the scores 52-all forcing an overtime to decide the game.
Into overtime, UCU started the brighter side with Sarah Ogena jump shot finding the net to take the University side at 54-52 before Flavia Oketcho responded for JKL with also a 2 pointer shot and level the matters.

Ritah Imanishimwe was then fouled by Ruth Letaru after which she converted one of the resulting 2 free throws to put the lady dolphins ahead by 1 point with 3:20 left on the clock.

JKL never looked back as Ritah added 2 points on her tally to make it 10 points while Stella Oyela rounded off the score with a game ending free throw.

Hope Akello finished the game with a double-double for JKL Lady Dolphins ( 18 points and 16 rebounds) and was named player of the match, Ritah had 10 points and Stella Oyela notched in 16 rebounds to help JKL Lady Dolphins to a second championship in their only two Finals.

Rose Akon and Lokwameri Zainah combined for 30 points and 21 rebounds for the losers with Rose Akon getting a double-double in the process( 13 points and 14 rebounds) while Lokwameri finished with 17 points and 7 rebounds

JKL have defended the title they won last year after beating the then defending champions UCU Lady Canons while UCU will have to wait until next year to get a record eighth.

Starting teams

JKL Lady Dolphins
Flavia, Ritah, Evelyn. Stella, Muhayamiha

UCU Lady Canons
Brenda, Maimuna, Sarah, Abei, Shakirah

Past Winners
2019 – JKL Lady Dolphins
2018 – JKL Lady Dolphins
2017 – UCU Lady Canons
2016 – UCU Lady Canons
2015 – UCU Lady Canons
2014 – KCCA Leopards
2013 – UCU Lady Canons
2012 – KCCA Leopards
2011 – UCU Lady Canons
2010 – UCU Lady Canons
2009 – KCCA Leopards
2008 – UCU Lady Canons
2007 – KCCA Leopards
2006 – Lady Bucks
2005 – A1 Challenge
2004 – Lady Bucks
2003 – Makerere Sparks
2002 – Lady Bucks
2001 – Lady Bucks
2000 – Lady Bucks
1999 – Lady Bucks
1998 – Lady Bucks
Kamardin Shero
Senior sports Editor at The Touchline Sports | Am down to earth person with a great heart of always wanting to assist where possible.

Kizza, Kasozi lead Uganda to 3rd consecutive win in CECAFA

Previous article

“HERBSTFINALE” – final run-up to the winter break

Next article


Comments are closed.