Onyango names 12-man travelling squad for World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series


Uganda Rugby sevens head coach Tolbert Onyango has named a 12-man squad that will travel to Chile and Uruguay for the inaugural World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series.

The team will be captain by the Micheal Wokorach while Phillip Wokorach will be the assistant.

Full squad

1. Pius Ogena

2. Desire Ayera

3. Ian Munyani

4. Levi’s Ocen

5. Solomon Okia

6. Isaac Massa

7. Adrian Kasiito

8. Aaron Ofoywroth

9. William Nkore

10. Norbert Okeny

11. Philip Wokorach

12. Michael Okorach

Uganda will compete against 15 other top ranked team across the globe for a qualification place in the next season’s  World Rugby sevens series

The teams who will compete in the 2020 World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series are Brazil, Chile, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Papua New Guinea, Portugal, Tonga, Uganda, Uruguay and Zimbabwe. They will be joined by three invitational teams from the Americas in Colombia, Mexico and Paraguay.

The top eight core teams after the two rounds will then compete in the final playoff tournament for a spot in the World Rugby Sevens Series, replacing the bottom placed core team in the World Series in the following season.

The two legs of the inaugural World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series will be played in Viña del Mar, Chile on February 15-16; and Montevideo, Uruguay on February 22-23.

Kamardin Shero
Senior sports Editor at The Touchline Sports | Am down to earth person with a great heart of always wanting to assist where possible.

Match Report: Mutyaba, Ssekisambu net as KCCA closes in on Vipers

Previous article

Uganda Premier League football returns to Kakyeka

Next article


Comments are closed.