USSSAUSSSA Excellence Awards

USSSA Excellence Awards: SMASK shine brightest

School of the Year: St. Mary's Kitende. MVP 3X3 Basketball Girls: Akello Winnie Morgan. MVP 5X5 Basketball Girls: Amaniyo Mary. MVP Netball: Nakuya Aisha. Female Games Tr of the Year: Madam Kyolaba Viola Grace.

The inaugural USSSA Excellence Award went down at the Kampala Imperial Hotel on a beautiful Friday evening of the 15th December 2023.

The simple and glamorous awarding event was hosted by a vibrant duo in Ismail Dhakaba Kigongo and Munira Bux who brought a smile on everyone’s face with their rich knowledge about Schools sports.

With multiple awards being given out in appreciation of different individuals and school for their immense effort on the day, St Mary’s School Kitende (SMASK) shone the most.

Just after winning U-15 CAF African Schools Football Championship qualifiers of the CECAFA region, the champions were named the School of the year 2023.

SMASK beat off competition from Kibuli Secondary School and Buddo Secondary School with their outstanding performances in school sports. 

Madam Kyolaba Viola Grace walked home with the female sports teacher of the year Award ahead of Atwesige Marion of Buddo SS and Alwenyi Alice of Mengo SS.

For the Male sports teacher of the year award,  Kasujja Erias of Kibuli Secondary School beat off competition from Ssentumbwe William of St. Noah Girls Secondary School and Mulaje Ronald of SMASK to take home the accolade.

Amus College forward Allan Oyirwoth was named the best Male Athlete of the year ahead of Mutatwala Ephraim (Hockey) – Namilyango and Barigye Mathew (Tennis) of Ntare School.

Male player of the year, Allan Oryowoth at Arrival .

As Nyimwungere Peace Olga was named the Female Athlete of the year to complete a football double in the 2023 USSSA Excellence Athlete double.

Kawempe Muslim head coach and Technical director tutor, Ayub Khalifa Kiyingi took home the best male coach of the year while Mugisha Lillian did the same on the women’s side.

General Secretary NCS, Bernard Patrick Ogwel congratulating Ayub Khalifa for scooping the coach of the year award

Uganda Boxing Champions League: Former National Open finalists to headline Week 17

Previous article

ACA Africa T20 Cup: Cricket Cranes Temporarily Lead Group A

Next article