Rugby Premiership: URU declares Heathens 2019-20 champions

Heathens Rugby Club declared Champions - The Touchline sports

The Uganda Rugby Union (URU) has declared Hima Cement Heathens as the 2019-20 Nile Special Stout Rugby Premier League champions.

The decision was taken after rhe URU Executive Committee meeting held on 30th September, 2020 were members resolved to end the 2019-2020 seasons with immediate effect after describing the condition/situation as “strict but completely understandable conditions” set up by the government in regards to sports resumption which included player testing for COVID-19 every after 2 weeks.

As a result, Hima Cement Heathens have been declared the Nile Special Stout Rugby Premier League champions as they were top of the log before the league was suspended in March.

The Union executive meeting also resolved that there will be no promotion or relegation from the NSSRPL given the fact that the championship knockout stages weren’t played.

The 2020-21 local rugby competitions are tentatively planned to resume on 23rd January 2021.

Kamardin Shero
Senior sports Editor at The Touchline Sports | Am down to earth person with a great heart of always wanting to assist where possible.

StarTimes UPL: FUFA reveals new kick off dates for 2020/21 season

Previous article

Joshua Cheptegei: Ugandan breaks another Bekele record

Next article


Comments are closed.