CECAFAU17 Championship

U17 AFCON Qualifiers: Uganda re-pitted in group B against South Sudan after the disqualification of Sudan and Djibouti


The Uganda National U17 Football team, the Cubs have re-pitted against Burundi and South Sudan in group B after the disqualification of Sudan and Djibouti.

Group B had initially consisted of Uganda, Djibouti, Sudan, Burundi and Rwanda, but Rwanda withdrew while Djibouti and Sudan were disqualified after failing to pass the MRI.

This left the group of only two teams prompting CECAFA to regroup the teams left in the tournament.

Now South Sudan has been taken out from group A and now will play in group B alongside Uganda and Burundi.

The qualifiers are set to take place between October 2-14th at Abebe Bikila Stadium in Addis Ababa.

Uganda are the defending champions of this tournament after having won the 2020 in Rwanda.

The two best teams from this tournament will qualify for the 2023 AFCON U17 finals in Algeria.


A: Ethiopia, Somalia, Tanzania
B: Uganda, Burundi, South Sudan

CHAN 2023: Uganda pitted against DR Congo in group B

Previous article

StarTimes UPL: SC Villa start new season with victory over Gaddafi

Next article