AFCONUganda Cranes

Two Uganda Cranes player destinations confirmed in Provisional squad


Two Uganda Cranes players Geofrey Wasswa and Isma Mugulusi have had their destinations revealed on Monday morning.

Wasswa and Mugulusi have joined Ethiopia Coffee FC and Portuguese side CD Feirense respectively as confirmed by the squad summoned by Uganda Cranes head Coach Milutin Sredojevic.

Wasswa has joined the Ethiopian side on a two year deal as a free agent after the expiry of his contract at KCCA FC in June this year.

The ball playing defender, previously played for SC Villa and Vipers SC which he joined in 2015/16 from their feeder school side, St. Mary’s School, Kitende.

For Mugulusi, who has been plying his trade at Greek Super League 2 side Makedonikos Football Club joins Portuguese football side Feirense, based in Santa Maria da Feira.

The former Busoga United and SC Villa player featured in the Uganda Hippos side that reached the finals of the AFCON U20 in 2020 before being brought onto the Uganda Cranes squad.

Feirense play in the LigaPro, the second tier of Portuguese football and a number of Ugandan players have featured for these clubs including William Kizito Luwagga and Alex Kakuba

Onto the Uganda national mens football team, the Cranes a provisional squad had been announced ahead of AFCON Qualifiers.

This time round, New York Red Bull II forwards Ibrahim Kasule and Frank Sebbufu have been included in the squad just like Motherwell’s Bevis Mugabi.

The squad will officially enter camp on 28th August but the first available bunch(local based players) will be in a residential camp earlier at Cranes Paradise Hotel, Kisasi starting Monday, 14th August 2023

Uganda will play Niger on Thursday 7th September in Marrakech, Morocco.

Provisional Squad


Isima Watenga (Golden Arrows FC, South Africa), Salim Omar Magoola (Richards Bay FC, South Africa), Charles Lukwago (Unattached), Nafian Alionzi (Unattached), Joel Mutakubwa (BUL FC, Uganda)


Kenneth Semakula (SC Villa, Uganda), James Begisa (URA FC, Uganda), Isaac Muleme (Victoria Zizkov, Czech Republic), Timothy Awany (AS Ashdod, Israel), Halidi Lwaliwa (FK Bregalnica Stip, North Macedonia), Gift Fred (Yanga SC, Tanzania), Bevis Mugabi (Motherwell FC, Scotland), Musa Ramathan (VFK Vyskov, Czech Republic), Geofrey Wasswa (Ethiopia Buna SC, Ethiopia), Elvis Bwomono (IBV Vestamanyaer, Iceland), Joseph Ochaya (Al Makawloon, Egypt), Abdu Aziizi Kayondo (Hapeol Tel Aviv)


Khalid Aucho (Yanga SC, Tanzania), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Austin FC, USA), Siraje Sentamu (Vipers SC, Uganda), Taddeo Lwanga (APR FC, Rwanda), Moses Waiswa (KCCA FC, Uganda), Milton Karisa (Vipers SC, Uganda), Travis Mutyaba (SC Villa, Uganda), Isma Mugulusi (Feirense, Portugal), Rogers Kassim Mato (Sanliurfaspor, Turkey), Farouk Miya (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey), Laban Tibita (URA FC, Uganda), Ibrahim Kasule (New York Red Bull II, USA)


Emmanuel Okwi (Erbil SC, Iraq), Fahad Bayo (VFK Vyskov, Czech Republic), Richard Bassangwa (Wadi Degla, Egypt), Frank Ssebufu (New York Redbull II, USA)

Uganda Boxing Champions League: Murungi beats Kyobe to Dakar slot

Previous article

Alpha Ssali: Former Proline forward joins Express Football Club

Next article