Uganda Cup

Stanbic Uganda Cup: Ankole Lions become first team to qualify for the Round of 32

Stanbic Uganda Cup: Ankole Lions become first team to qualify for the Round of 32

Mbarara City became the first team to qualify for this year’s Stanbic Uganda Cup round of 32 after eliminating Kakira United FC in an encounter that ended 2-1 today at the Kakira grounds.

Solomon Okwalinga and Brian Aheebwa’s goals were enough to sail the Ankole Lions past the round of 64.

The 46th edition of the Stanbic Uganda Cup will continue with the round of 64 games on Tuesday 21st January 2020 with four games on the card.

Proline FC are the defending champions of the 45th edition and defeated Bright Stars in the shootouts at Masaka Recreation Grounds to lift their
first-ever trophy.

The round of 64 is a knockout round at which all StarTimes Premier League teams start featuring in the competition and are always on the road.

Proline FC will visit FUFA Big League side Katwe United FC in the opening game at the Startimes stadium,  Lugogo at 4:00 pm.

StarLight FC will welcome Tooro United FC at Star Light SSS Ground in Amuria district at 4:00 pm, Tooro United was knocked out by Wakiso Giants FC on the round of 16 by penalties.

FUFA Big League side Kigezi Home Boyz FC will visit Kiryandongo T/C FC at Kiryandongo C.O.U Ground in the last game of the day.

All Round of 64 Stanbic Uganda Cup fixtures

Tuesday, 21st January:

Katwe United Vs Proline – StarTimes Stadium, Lugogo

StarLight Vs Tooro United – Star Light SSS Ground, Amuria

Kiryandongo Town Council Vs Kigezi Homeboyz – Kiryandongo Church of Uganda Ground

Wednesday, 22nd January:

Kajjansi United Vs Vipers – Mutesa II Wankukukuku

Busia Young Vs Busoga United – Busia Integrated Primary School, Busia

Bugamba Vs Onduparaka – Bugamba Ground

Thursday, 23rd January:

Koboko Rising Stars Vs Bright Stars – Nyarilo Ground, Koboko

Super Eagles Vs SC Villa – Pece War Memorial Stadium, Gulu

Young Elephants Vs Maroons – Olwio St Mark Ground, Nwoya

Six O’clock Vs Kitara – Kizinda Playground

Kampala University Vs Kataka – Kampala University, Luweero

Gagaba Vs Kiboga Young – Buziga Islamic Ground

Friday, 24th January:

Mvara Boys Vs BUL – Arua PTC Ground

CATIDA Vs KCCA – Star Times Stadium, Lugogo

Lugazi Municipal Vs URA – Mehta Stadium, Lugazi

Soroti Vs Kansai Plascon – Soroti Stadium

Chimpanzee Vs Nyamityobora – Ntandi Ground

Fire Fire Vs Light SSS – Kyambogo College Ground

FHL Vs Ndejje University – Illi Valley Ground

Free Stars Vs Saviours – UCU Ground, Mukono

Saturday, 25th January:

Admin Vs Police – Paya Primary School ground, Tororo

Bugoigo Vs Wakiso Giants – Bugoigo Ground, Buliisa

Sansiro Vs Kyetume – Omerien Primary School, Kumi

Mbale Garage Vs UPDF – Mbale SSS, Ground

Sunday, 26th January:

St Marys Vs Express – Nabweru

Kigezi Vs Bukedea Town Council – Kabale Municipal Ground

Dove Vs New Villa – Katusabe Ground, Masindi

Gadafi Vs MYDA – Gadafi Ground, Jinja

U-Touch Vs Water – Pece War Memorial Stadium, Gulu

Luweero United Vs Doves All Stars – Kasaala Ground, Luweero

Spartans Vs Paidha Black Angels – Mashariki Ground, Katale (Off Entebbe road)

Uganda Cup winners since

1971 1971 Coffee SC 2-1 Army 1972-1975 competition suspended
1976 Gangama United 0-0 Coffee SC (4-2 pen)
1977 Simba w/o Nytil FC 1978 Nsambya 1-0 UCB
1979 KCC w/o UCB
1980 KCC 2-0 Maroons
1981 Coffee SC 1-1 UCB (5-4 pen)
1982 KCC vs Nile (Nile walked off in 75′ at 1-0; KCC winners)
1983 SC Villa 1-0 KCC
1984 KCC 3-2 Coffee SC
1985 Express 3-1 KCC
1986 SC Villa 2-0 Tobacco
1987 KCC 1-0 SC Villa
1988 SC Villa 3-1 Express
1989 SC Villa 4-2 Express
1990 KCC 3-0 SC Villa
1991 Express 4-1 Nile
1992 Express 1-0 Nile
1993 KCC 2-1 Dairy Heroes
1994 Express 0-0 KCC (4-3 pen)
1995 Express 2-0 Posta (aet)
1996 UEB 1-0 Nile
1997 Express 4-1 UEB
1998 Villa 2-0 Simba
1999 Dairy Heroes 0-0 Lyantonde FC (3-0 pen)
2000 Villa 1-0 Military Police
2001 Express 3-1 Villa
2002 Villa 2-1 Express
2003 Express 3-1 Police
2004 KCC 1-1 Express (aet, 3-2 pen)
2005 URA 2-1 KCC
2006 Express 2-0 Maji
2007 Express 0-0 KCC (aet, 4-2 pen)
2008 Victors 1-0 Kinyara
2009 Villa 2-1 URA
2010 Victors 1-1 Simba (aet, 5-4 pen) 2011 Simba 2-1 URA
2012 URA 1-0 Bunamwaya
2013 SCVU 1-1 Vipers (aet, 5-3 pen)
2014 URA 2-2 KCC (aet 4-2 pen)
2015 SC Villa 3-0 KCC
2016 Vipers SC 3-1 Onduparaka FC
2017 Paidha Black Angels FC 0-2 KCCA FC
2018 Vipers SC 0-1 KCCA FC
2019 Proline FC 1-1 Bright Stars FC (5-4 pen)

Pool: Trubish re-elected back to the office for the second stint

Previous article

Pool: Bwanika and Mutesi enjoy top spots in Pool rankings

Next article