SC VillaUganda Premier League

SC Villa clinch 17th UPL title to end two-decade drought


Saturday- Final day results

  • •NEC 0-2 SC Villa
  • •Busoga 0-3 BUL
  • •Vipers 4-1 Mbarara City
  • •Kitara 3-0 Gaddafi
  • •Maroons 1-1 KCCA
  • •Wakiso Giants 0-1 UPDF
  • •URA 1-1 Bright Stars

Sports Club Villa won the 2023/24 Uganda Premier League title after 20 years of wait at the Phillip Omondi Stadium in Lugogo on Saturday 18th May.

This 17th title was added to their cabin after decisive 2-0 victory over NEC FC on the final day of the season.

The two goals came in from Charles Lwanga who was assisted by Umar Lutalo and Hakim Kiwanuka after striking a great ball from Patrick Jonah Kakande in the 67th and 75 minutes respectively.

After the first half finished with with no goal, pressure was sighted among the SC Villa fans that flogged Lugogo after both their rivals on the day BUL and Vipers were leading their respective games.

The situation at that time meant BUL FC were leading the standings with 56 points and a better head to head record than Vipers.

Right after Villa’s two goals, we saw a dramatic end which meant that the Jogoos were lonely at the top with an exciting 57 points which were enough to secure the title.

With a number of coaches at SC Villa over the 20 years Dusan Stojanovic has been the brightest spark after a glimpse of hope last season under Jackson Magera who closely finished 3rd in the 2022/23 Uganda Premier League season.

League Summary on last day.

Sports Club Villa were crowned Champions after concluding the season top of the League with 57 points, one more than BUL and Vipers, who both finished with 56 points.

At the other end of the table, a victory for BUL meant it was over for Busoga United who lost 3-0 to drown into the Big League just like Gaddafi FC who were defeated by Kitara by the same scoreline.

These results meant that UPDF survived Big League Football after they beat Wakiso Giants by a goal.

The two Jinja teams joined Arua Hill who were relegated before the resumption of the second round.

KCCA’s Mohammad Shaban Jagason ends this season as topscorer with 17 goals, three ahead of Express’ Isaac Wagoina and Denis Omedi of Kitara FC.

For the assist zone, Maroons’ Abraham Tusubira Kakensa leads the way with 10, three more than Vipers Yunus Ssentamu.

Updated wall of UPL Champions.


SC Villa





Maroons and Simba 

Coffee FC, Nile Breweries, Police and UCB

Title Decider UPL Games to be Broadcasted Live by StarTimes

Previous article

Soroti City Cricket Club eyes promotion in semifinal clash against JACC

Next article