Nicholas Wadada: defender crowned 2020 Football256 FOTY

Nicholas Wadada wins 2020 FOTY award

Azam FC and Cranes defender Nicholas Wadada has been voted and presented with the 2020 Football256 Footballer of the year (FOTY) award at Kati Kati restaurant.

Wadada beat competition from Cranes and Konyaspor’s Farouk Miya, Montreal impact’s Mustafa Kizza, last season’s StarTimes UPL top scorer, Steven Mukwala and former Vipers’ top scorer Fahad Bayo to claim this year’s and only the second FOTY Award.

The defender had a good season in the Tanzania Premier League last season, helping his Azam FC side finish third on the log and consequently making the final shortlist for the League’s best player’s award and claiming the League’s best defender accolade last season.

Football 256, an online website put up this award to celebrate their anniversary and also celebrate the best performing Ugandan football players both on the local and international scene.

The list initially had 15 players who were shortlisted by a team of selected journalists and included Saidi Kyeyune, Shafiq Kagimu, Gift Ali, Vianney Ssekajugo, Kizito Luwagga, Joel Mutakubwa, Derrick Ndahiro, Edrisa Lubega, Awany Timothy and  Denise Onyango before being reduced to the final five.

The voting process started on the 1st of October and it lasted 18 days after which the winner, Nicholas Wadada who got 86,958 out of the 302,151 votes was presented with his award today afternoon.

Former KCCA FC defender Mustafa Kizza came second with 79591 votes and closely followed by Fahad Bayo with 58061 votes.

Farouk Miya finished fourth position with 44450 votes while Steven Mukwala came fifth with 33091 votes.

The 2019 and inaugural award was won by former KCCA midfielder Allan Okello.

Joshua Cheptegei: multiple world record holder voted USPA’s best of 2019

Previous article

Boxing: no government support as Bombers pull out of ‘Bingwa wa Mabingwa’

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Awards