CricketVictoria Pearls

Janet Mbabazi To Captain Victoria Pearls At The T20 Global Qualifiers


After spending seven years as Vice Captain, Janet Mbabazi was named as the Victoria Pearls Captain for the upcoming T20 Global Qualifiers in Abu Dhabi from April 19th – 2nd May.

Mbabazi replaced Consy Aweko who has led the team to the different tournaments over the years.

Away from the Captain role, Rita Musamali also moved a step higher as she was elevated to the new Vice Captain role.

Into the final 15 of the T20 Global Qualifiers we are set to see only one change with Proscovia Alako making a return in place of Soroti Cricket Academy’s Immaculate Nandera.

Proscovia Alako with her bat.

The rest of the squad was part of the training tour to India at Omtex and the African Games in Ghana.

The Full Team

Janet Mbabazi (Captain), Rita Musamali (Vice Captain), Consy Aweko, Kevin Awino, Stephanie Nampiina, Immaculate Nakisuyi, Evelyn Anyipo, Sarah Akiteng, Phionah Khulume, Proscovia Alako, Gloria Obukor, Esther Iloku, Lorna Anyait, Malissa Ariokot, Sarah Walaza.

Uganda is in group A alongside Scotland, Thailand, USA and Sri Lanka. Uganda played against Thailand and Scotland at the 2018 Global Qualifiers in Netherlands but will be meeting USA and Sri Lanka for the 1st time.

The top sides in the group will qualify for the semifinals with the two sides that make it to the finals earning a ticket to the 2024 T20 Women’s World Cup in Bangaldesh later in the year.

The team will leave Uganda on 19th April and will play two warm up games against Vanuatu and UAE before the group games start on 25th of April 2024.

Uganda will experience playing under lights for the 1st time against Scotland and Thailand while the games against USA and Sri Lanka are day games.

FWSL: Nandago strike takes Kawempe three points clear

Previous article

UPL: Rwothomio goal for NEC denies Kitara a point

Next article