WAFCONWomenWomen Football

2022 WAFCON : South Africa win their maiden Women Africa Cup Of Nations


Banyana Banyana of South Africa are the Champions of the 2022 Total Energies Women Africa Cup Of Nations for the first time in their history.

This is after they defeated the Hosts, Morocco  2-1 in the final played at a fully packed Moulay Abdellah Sports Complex on Saturday evening.

Hildah Magaia netted a brace to ensure the South Africans lead comfortably just before Morocco scored an energizer goal through Roselle Ayane, a goal that later appeared to be a consolation.

Hildah Magaia of South Africa celebrating her first goal.

Those two goals meant that the Banyana Banyana win their maiden WAFCON trophy will represent South Africa with all the Semi-finalists at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup

South Africa wins the tournament, unbeaten in five games. They won all their three games at the group stage (Nigeria, Burundi and Botswana)before overcoming Tunisia and Zambia in the quarter-finals and Semi-finals respectively.

Morocco who finished second were in group A and finished with maximum points (beating Burkina Faso, Uganda and Senegal) there after beating conquering Botswana at the quarters and then Nigeria in semi-final.

In the third-place playoff, Zambia defeated record Champions Nigeria 1-0 to claim the bronze medals.

The Moroccan Ghizlane Chebbak was voted the championship MVP and also took on the golden boot after finishing as the tournament top scorer with three level on goals with Hilda Magaia( South Africa) and Rasheedat Ajibade( Nigeria) but having more assists to her name.

Fairplay Award – South Africa

Top scorer – Ghizlane Chebbak (Morocco)

Best Goalkeeper – Andile Dlamini (South Africa)

Andile Dlamini holding her golden glove.

MVP- Ghizlane Chebbak (Morocco)

Third Place – Zambia

Runners up – Morocco

Winners – South Africa

Jeremiah Mugalu

Worst transfers in English Premier League: Mauro Zárate

Previous article

Mawa succeeds Lutalo as Onduparaka head coach

Next article


Leave a Reply