14 player squad named for the Kwibuka Women tournament


On Tuesday morning, Uganda Cricket Association named squad of 14-player Victoria Pearls squad that will compete in the annual T20 Kwibuka Women tournament.

Among the 14 are three(3) from the concluded National Girls Schools Cricket Week and they include wicket keeper batter Jimia Mohammed, all-rounder Malisa Ariokot and Lorna Anyait.

The Pearls won the maiden edition of the Kwibuka tournament in 2014 and won their second in 2016 but since then they have not won this competition.

The tournament is set to start on 8th and climax on the 18th June in Kigali and will feature five countries without  previous edition winners Tanzania and Namibia who with drew from the competition 

The countries in this year’s tournament are Kenya the record winners, Rwanda who will be the hosts, Nigeria, Botswana and Uganda.

Victoria Pearls will bowl off their campaign against Kenya at the Kicukiro Cricket Oval on Saturday 10th June 2023.

Full squad names.

Proscovia Alako, Irene Alumo, Kevin Awino, Janet Mbabazi, Consy Aweko, Patricia Malemekia, Immaculate Nakisuuyi, Evelyn Anyipo, Stephanie Nampiina, Rita Musamali, Phiona Kulume, Malisa Ariokot, Lorna Anyait, Jimia Mohammed

2023 Masaza Cup: Venue for opening match announced

Previous article

Stanbic Uganda Cup: Vipers eye double as they face Police in Final

Next article