Winning big with less – Ranking the 5 lowest point totals to have won the Uganda Premier League title since 2000


It has not always required a near-flawless campaign to be crowned Uganda’s top-flight football league champion, at least history has.

Vipers SC, with five at least 5 games to end the season has already accumulated equal points (54) to the Express FC team that won the 2011/12 league title and the lowest figure in league history since 2000. The same could be at the end of the current season, should-it-come to an end anyway.

Today, we bring you the top 5 lowest point accumulations to have won the Uganda Premier League since 2000.

1. KCCA FC – 63 points (2012/13)

KCCA FC 2012/13 - winning-big-with-less-ranking-the-5-lowest-point-totals-to-have-won-the-uganda-premier-league-title-since-2000

KCCA FC won the 2012/13 league title with only one loss throughout the entire season and winning 17 games on the other end.

The Kasasiro Boys would take the lead in the title race from early October and remain top until the season’s end, boasting a 7-point advantage at the end of the season.

The Lugogo based side could go to secure the title with 2 memorable wins (4-0 vs. Water FC) and (3-1 vs. Arum Roses) towards the end of the season before drawing 0-0 with challengers URA FC in a season closure.

Also, read >>

A Lustrum that would change Ugandan football forever – Looking back at every FUFA MVP

16 teams participated in the FUFA Super League that season. Maroons FC had opted to only take part in the Uganda Super League. The rest of the teams with the exception of KCC FC, URA FC, BUL FC, Vipers SC, Victoria University participated in the two leagues which were played that season.

2. KCCA FC – 60 points (2013/14)

KCCA FC 2013/14 - winning-big-with-less-ranking-the-5-lowest-point-totals-to-have-won-the-uganda-premier-league-title-since-2000

KCCA FC was crowned Super League champions after winning their last game of the season, against SC Villa on Tuesday 6 May.

KCCA defeated SC Villa 3-1 thanks to goals from Stephen Bengo, William Wadri and Ronnie Kisseka before the latter scored an own goal to award SC Villa a consolation in a match staged at Lugogo Stadium.

KCCA who retained their gong finished the campaign with 60 points, just one ahead of closest challengers SC Victoria University.

Another season with a low point tally and 16 participants.

3. URA FC – 59 points (2010/11)

URA FC 2010/11 - winning-big-with-less-ranking-the-5-lowest-point-totals-to-have-won-the-uganda-premier-league-title-since-2000

The 2010–11 Uganda Super League was contested by 14 teams. Uganda Revenue Authority Football Club (URA FC) finished comfortably atop the Uganda Super League standings on 59 points.

They beat their closest challengers, KCCA to the title by 11-points. It was their 4th and last title.

4. KCCA FC – 57 points (2015/16)

KCCA FC 2015/16 - winning-big-with-less-ranking-the-5-lowest-point-totals-to-have-won-the-uganda-premier-league-title-since-2000

Mike Mutebi’s first league title as KCCA manager came during his first full season in charge, although this required a significant comeback for the Lugogo based side after sacking head coach Sam Ssimbwa.

The 2015/16 Uganda Super League Season was contested by 16 – teams with KCCA FC winning 16 and losing 5 of their 30 games throughout the season. They could go on to finish on just 57 points, though it was enough to finish four points clear of Vipers SC despite drawing in their final two fixtures.

5. EXPRESS FC – 54 points (2011/12)

Express FC 2011/12 - winning-big-with-less-ranking-the-5-lowest-point-totals-to-have-won-the-uganda-premier-league-title-since-2000

The lowest winning points tally in the Uganda Premier League history belongs to – yep, you guessed it right. Express FC, a Sam Simbwa coached side claimed the championship despite registering just 54 points throughout the entire 2011/12 season.

Express won just 15 games throughout the campaign and drew a huge 9, though it was still enough to finish a point clear of nearest challengers Vipers SC.

The Red Eagles’ record low tally is perhaps evidence of a more competitive division throughout.

The league was contested by 16 teams, however, Fire Masters were banned from the league before the season could end for failing to honor 3-fixtures.

Ronald Yiga
Senior Staff Writer at Touchline Sports covering largely football

Mukisa Kenneth: A Ugandan’s rise through the ranks of Swedish football

Previous article

Masaza Cup: Kyaggwe confirms new management committee

Next article


Comments are closed.