CricketVictoria Pearls

2023 Victoria series : What are Uganda’s chances at the second Edition?


Having won the Quadrangular tournament in Kenya in December last year, the Victoria Pearls hope to also keep the Victoria series title in their motherland despite stiff competition.

The competition is set to come in from four proven nations in UAE, Kenya, Rwanda and Tanzania who will focus on improving their T20 global rankings but above all clinch the trophy.


UAE -15th

Tanzania -16th

Uganda – 21st

Kenya – 23rd

Rwanda – 26th

The Pearls will be boosted by the fact that they have been in camp for a given period of time having gained professional status in a way that, they hold contracts and play Cricket as a full time job with assured pay after an agreed period of time which is motivation.

Secondly, the team has been together for a few years with a couple of familiar names like Janet Mbabazi who was recently voted by USPA as the Female Cricketer of the Year for 2022 and will be in fine company of other two experienced players in Immaculate Nakisuyi and Stephanie Nampiima.

The rest of the girls were will be;Consy Aweko (Captain), Evelyn Anyipo, Irene Alumo, Patricia Malemikia, Gloria Obukor, Kevin Awino, Phiona Egaru Khulume, Sarah Akiteng, Rita Musamali.

Consy Aweko, the Victoria Pearls captain is confident that her team will sell the game by showcasing the best;

“Everyone in camp is in good shape just like the spirits, we are home and have no reason to back off and really don’t have to prove a point but have to sell the game through showcasing the best”

On day one, the hosts Uganda (Victoria Pearls) will face the lowest ranked team in the tournament, Rwanda who will hope to draw inspiration from their U19 team.

Speaking to the media of Monday morning, Rwanda’s team captain Diana Marie Bimenyimana came out to highlight what should be expected from her side,

“We are just coming here to play good cricket . We are going to meet new teams with different experience and it is going to sharpen us on what we are not good.”

The tournament will be played in a round robin format and start on Tuesday 18th April 2023 at the Lugogo Cricket Oval with two games each day until Saturday 22nd April 2023.

The top two sides will then play the final in the afternoon of Sunday 23rd April to decide the winner.

Diaspora: How Ugandan professionals abroad fared over the weekend

Previous article

StarTimes UPL: Advantage Vipers as KCCA, Villa lose

Next article