CricketKwibuka Women’s tournamentRwanda Cricket AssociationVictoria PearlsZimbabwe Cricket

Uganda secures 4th Kwibuka title in tense, low-scoring clash with Zimbabwe A


Uganda 80/8 ( Alako 24, Musamali 15, Mutasa 2-7, Chiagora 2-9) beat Zimbabwe A 78/9 (Loryn 27, Dhururu 22, Janet 5-10) by 2 runs

The final of the 10th edition of the Kwibuka Cricket Tournament was a spectacle of intense competition, culminating in a nail-biting finish that thrilled spectators until the very last ball.

In a match marked by low scores and high tension, the Victoria Pearls won the toss and elected to bat.

Their decision quickly backfired as their top order crumbled, leaving the three-time champions reeling at 6/3.

Proscovia Alako (24) and Rita Musamali (15) provided some resistance, but their efforts were short-lived.

By the 14th over, Uganda was struggling at 47/5, eventually limping to 80/8 in their allotted 20 overs.

Uganda’s batting woes were exacerbated by the formidable bowling of Zimbabwe A.

Christina Mutasa’s effective swing (2/17) and Kelly Kudzai’s dynamic pace (2/9) were instrumental in keeping the Victoria Pearls under pressure throughout their innings.

In response, Uganda made an early breakthrough, dismissing the dangerous Kelis Ndlovu.

However, Captain Chiydeza Dhururu (22) and Loryn Phiri (27) countered with a pivotal 48-run partnership that seemed to put Zimbabwe A in the driver’s seat.

The momentum shifted dramatically with the quick dismissals of both set batters, allowing the Victoria Pearls to claw their way back into the match.

Captain Janet Mbabazi (5/10) and Consy Aweko (2/17) bowled with precision and determination, setting up a tense final over with Zimbabwe A needing 8 runs for victory.

Young Lorna Anyait was entrusted with the crucial final over.

The tension peaked as Lorraine Pemhiwa hit a boundary, narrowing the target to 4 runs from 2 balls.

A fielding error added to the drama, resulting in a no-ball and reducing the requirement to 3 runs off 2 balls.

Despite the pressure, Anyait held her nerve, and with no pace left in the ball, Zimbabwe A’s tail failed to clinch the win.

Lorraine Pemhiwa was the last wicket to fall on the final ball, sealing a dramatic victory for the Victoria Pearls.

This triumph marked Uganda’s first win at the Kwibuka Tournament, following their second consecutive appearance in the final of this prestigious annual women’s cricket event.

Proscovia Alako emerged as a standout performer, finishing second in the batting charts and scoring the only century of the tournament.

The defending champions, Rwanda, secured third place, followed by Nigeria, Kenya, Botswana, Malawi, and Cameroon in the final standings.


Player of Series- Kelis Ndhlovu (Zimbabwe A)

Best Batter- Kelis Ndhlovu (Zimbabwe A)

Best Bowler- Ude Lilian (Nigeria)

Best Fielder- Chiyedza Teresia Dhururu (Zimbabwe A)

Uganda Boxing Champions League: Kemis Ibrahim returns for season three in Light weight bout

Previous article

2024 Masaza Cup :Venue, date of Opener revealed

Next article