AwardsBasketballCricketFortebetGolfWood ball

ForteBet Real Stars Awards: The October nominees are named


The ForteBet Real Stars sports monthly awards have released a list of athletes nominated as outstanding performers for the month of October.

Fifteen sports personalities across five disciplines such as football, cricket, woodball, golf and basket ball were listed and each of the category winner will walk away with a plaque and cash.

In football, goalkeeper Alfred Mudekereza (Vipers SC) will face competition from Arua Hill Sports Club’s Rashid Toha alongside Richard Wandyaka (BUL FC).

Mudekereza helped Vipers SC break the CAF Champions League group stages jinx when they advanced to the last 16 of the 2022 edition after eliminating five time champions TP Mazembe from DR Congo.

For Richard Wandyaka, he netted four goals in October including one against their latest opponent, SC Villa at the FUFA Technical Center, Njeru the other nominee Rashid Toha scored two goals.

In basketball, the line up didn’t change much with two of the usual suspects in David Deng Dikong, Francis Azolibe and two time winner Rose Akon.

Blazer Dikong was so important in pushing the Namuwongo side to game 7 which they eventually lost but put up a fight with fellow players like Ariel Okal, Saidi Amisi among others.

For the Nigerian Azolibe, he helped City Oilers win the eighth consecutive NBL Championship hence putting up a double double of 24 points, 12 rebounds and also helping the team  proceed in the 2022 BAL in Cape Town, South Africa.

Rose Akon who has won the women’s NBL and was also named the 2022 Women’s National Basketball League MVP.

In the recently concluded Tusker Malt Golf Open, Andrew Ssekibejja, Martha Babirye and Micheal Alunga were the names shortlisted.

Andrew Ssekibejja won the 2022 Tusker malt Amateurs Open. For Martha Babirye, she won the 2022 Uganda Golf Open championship, her third title after two back-to-back titles in 2019 and 2020.

Lastly Micheal Alunga, he won the 2022 Tea fields trophy at the Kericho Golf club, Kenya early this month.

In Cricket the nominees are Immaculate Nakisuyi (Aziz Daman Women), Deepesh Hiran (Patidar) and Aloysius Odoi (JACC).

And lastly woodball, Christine Birungi, Israel Muwanguzi and Joan Mukova are the contenders.

The awarding ceremony for the winners will take place on Tuesday 1st November at Route 256 restaurant in Lugogo.

Each winner will take home a hefty prize cash courtesy of sponsors Forte Bet and Jude Colour solutions.

FWSL: Rines win their first game of the season, Queens maintain perfect start

Previous article

Startimes UPL: Wakiso Giants set to host URA in Wakiso

Next article