CricketSoroti Criket Academy

Sixteen Schools set to converge in Soroti City for girls schools cricket week


All schools are set to check in to Soroti tomorrow for the highly anticipated National Girls Schools Cricket Week, running from May 4th to May 11th.

Following a challenging series of regional qualifier games last month, the focus now shifts to Soroti as the host city prepares to welcome teams from across the country.

Sixteen schools from six different regions will compete in this year’s tournament, hosted by Soroti Cricket Academy and housed at St. Mary’s Girls Secondary School Madera.

With all preparations in place, excitement mounts for this year’s premier event.

This is another opportunity to see the cream of our future women cricketers in action. We honestly hope they light up the occasion.

Our gratitude goes to UCA for making this happen yet again despite the growing number of participating schools.

I would also like to thank SCA together with St. Mary’s Girl’s SS, Madera for hosting us for a second year running, and also to the participating schools that have preferred to turn up for this event over others.

Hopefully at the end of this much anticipated week, cricket will prevail

Davis Turinawe – Development Officer Uganda Cricket Association

We are delighted to host the Girls Cricket Week 2024 in Soroti.

This prestigious event provides an opportunity for the community in Soroti to watch their own in action, promote the popularity of the support among key stakeholders and also provides an opportunity for the cricket community in

Uganda to understand the cricket culture that has enabled many female cricketers thrive.

We look forward to welcoming the teams, their supporters, and the media to Soroti for what promises to be an exciting and memorable event.”

Felix Musana – Chairman, Soroti Cricket Academy

The alumni of Soroti Cricket Academy, now part of the Victoria Pearls and currently in Dubai, extend their heartfelt wishes to all schools traveling to Soroti.

They wish everyone safe travels and the best of luck in the upcoming Girls Schools Cricket Week.

Why Soroti City Schools Have the Upper Hand

Soroti has long been a key talent pool for the Victoria Pearls, boasting a strong presence on the women’s team. With the Girls Schools Cricket Week approaching, Soroti schools are determined to clinch victory.

Olila High School, the reigning champions, are poised to secure their fourth consecutive nationals trophy.

St. Mary’s Girls School Madera aims to defend their hosting honor, while Light SS, victors of the Eastern Region qualifiers, believe it’s their year to shine.

The talent pool is deep, with Madera’s captain Kulume Ruth and three teammates showcasing their skills in the recent Inter-Hub tournament.

Olila High School’s seasoned players, including captain Jimia Mohammad, Akrut Asumin, and Nandera Immaculate, bring experience from their time with the Victoria Pearls.

Additionally, returnees Lorna Anyait and Malisa Ariokot, fresh from Dubai, bolster their school team.

Olila’s squad boasts 12 players who represented the SCA under-17 team in Rwanda and Gulu earlier this year, giving them a strategic advantage in game awareness.

Meanwhile, 10 players from Light SS gained valuable experience in the interhub tournament in January. Captained by Soroti Cricket Club standout Apolot Patricia, Light SS benefits from the experience of Ariago Michelle and the batting prowess of Timong Patricia Phiona, a seasoned player for the Baby Cricket Cranes.

The schools that will feature in the tournament include:

Eastern Region: Light SS, St Mary’s Girls SS Madera, Olila High School

Northern Region: Masindi Secondary School, Sacred Hearts Secondary School

Nile Region (Jinja): St James SS, Good Heart SS, Iganga SS, Jinja SSS

Central Region: Ndejje SSS, Mukono Kings High School, St John’s SS Mukono, Gayaza High

St. James SS makes a return to the nationals after last qualifying in 2017, while Sacred Hearts SS, Masindi SS, Good Heart SS, and Mukono Kings will make their debut at the event.

Olila High School aims for a fourth consecutive title on home turf, but faces stiff competition from Light SSS, Jinja SS, Masaka SS, and Ndejje SS.

Jinja SS holds the record with eight titles, closely followed by Gayaza High School with four.

Past Winners:

2001: Gayaza High School

2002: Gayaza High School

2003: City High School

2004: City High School

2005: Gayaza High School

2006: City High School

2007: Not held

2008: Jinja Secondary School

2009: Not held

2010: Jinja Secondary School

2011: Gayaza High School

2012: Jinja Secondary School
2013: Jinja Secondary School

2014: Jinja Secondary School

2015: Kololo Secondary School

2016: Jinja Secondary School

2017: Jinja Secondary School

2018: Jinja Secondary School

2019: Olila Secondary School

2020: Not held

2021: Not held

2022: Olila Secondary School

2023: Olila Secondary School

The tournament promises to be an electrifying affair, leaving lasting memories for players, team officials, match officials, and volunteers alike. Cricket’s second appearance in Soroti will undoubtedly be etched into history.

BUL Surges to the Summit of UPL Table with Victory Over Vipers

Previous article

2024 Shell V-Power Pearl of Africa Uganda Rally launched

Next article