Rwanda Cricket Association

Rwanda Women Cricket Team off to Nigeria for Invitational Tournament


The departure of Rwanda’s women’s cricket team from Kigali to Nigeria signifies a significant moment in the world of cricket, as they join Nigeria, Sierra Leone, and Tanzania in the Nigeria Cricket Federation’s Women’s T20i Tournament.

After sharpening their skills at Gahanga Cricket Stadium, Rwanda’s national women’s team is well-prepared for the competition.

This venture is a crucial part of their preparation for the upcoming All Africa Games in Accra.

The Nigerian tournament provides a valuable opportunity for them to refine their strategies and team unity, crucial elements in their quest for gold against other strong teams.

Their coach, Leonard Nhamburo, has been leading their training sessions. He says they have been practicing a lot to make sure they are fully prepared.

They’ve also been playing in another tournament called the RCA T10, even though they had to stop for a while because of this international event.

Coach Nhamburo has helped the team succeed before, and he believes they can do it again.

Since Coach Nhamburo started coaching in 2021, the team has improved a lot. They have a strong mindset and take responsibility for their game.

Diane Bimenyimana is the team captain, and she will lead the team in Nigeria and later in Accra.

Two new players, Zuruphat Ishimwe and Sylvia Usabyimana, have joined the team from the under-19 squad.

They are both spinners and will bring new energy to the team. Zuruphat plays for Gahanga Queens CC, while Sylvia plays for Sorwathe Women cricket club.

In the past three tournaments, Nigeria and Rwanda have been very strong. Nigeria won two times and Rwanda won once.

Now, with Tanzania joining, people wonder if there will be a new champion. Will Nigeria and Rwanda keep winning, or will Tanzania surprise everyone.

As Rwanda’s women’s cricket team starts this journey, they show they are strong and dedicated. They are ready to compete and show their skills on the world stage.

Rwanda Women’s team while training at Gahanga cricket stadium.

To enhance relations between the participating countries in the tournament, a commentator and an umpire were invited from Rwanda.

Bob Bashir Songa will serve as the commentator, while Iriho Veronica will officiate as the umpire.

Bob Bashir Songa while at the invitational tournament last year.

Full squad

Diane Marie Bimenyimana (C), Alice IkuZwe, Belise Murekatete, Clarrise Umutoniwase, Flora Irakoze, Gisele Ishimwe, Henriette Therese Ishimwe, Uwase Geovanis, Immaculee Muhawenima, Josiane Nyirakundi, Marie Josee Tumukunde, Merveille Uwase, Rosine Irera, Sylvie Usabyimana, Zurafat Ishimwe

Photos credit – Abdoulkahal Ishimwe

StarTimes UPL: Omedi lone goal secures Kitara double over KCCA

Previous article

Victoria Pearls begin Preparatory Tour with defeat despite changes in batting Line-Up

Next article