CricketKwibuka Women’s tournamentRwanda Cricket Association

Rwanda Announces Squad for 2024 Kwibuka Women’s T20 Cricket Tournament

Coach Leornad Nhamburo while reading the team at the closing ceremony

At the closing ceremony of the RCA Women’s T20 tournament, Indatwa Hampshire was crowned champions.

Meanwhile, Rwanda unveiled its squad of 14 players for the upcoming 2024 Kwibuka Women’s T20 Cricket Tournament, scheduled from May 30 to June 8 at Gahanga International Cricket Stadium.

Diane Marie Bimenyimana resumes her captaincy role from Rosine Irera, who led the team in Botswana last month.

The squad sees the return of five players who missed the Botswana tournament:

Mervielle Uwase (Wicketkeeper batter), Gisele Ishimwe (Bat/Bowler), Belyse Murekatete (Bowler/Bat), Alice Ikuzwe (Bat/Bowler), Geovanis Uwase (Bat/Bowler)

The team will be coached by Zimbabwean gaffer Leonard Nhamburo, assisted by Kenneth Bugingo.

Former national team player Sarah Uwera will continue as team manager.

Eight countries have confirmed their participation in the 2024 Kwibuka Women’s T20 Tournament: Uganda, Nigeria, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Kenya, Malawi, and Cameroon.

In the 2023 tournament, Rwanda achieved a landmark 6-wicket victory over Uganda in the final, claiming their first title in nine years.

Rwanda limited Uganda to just 65 runs in 20 overs and successfully chased down the target in 16.1 overs.

This win was especially significant as it marked Rwanda’s first triumph over Uganda and their inaugural Kwibuka tournament championship, an event held annually to commemorate the 1994 genocide against the Tutsi.

Rwandan bowler Henrietta Ishimwe was instrumental in her team’s success, leading the tournament with 16 wickets.

Meanwhile, Kenya’s Queentor Abel dominated the batting charts, amassing 206 runs.

Rwanda’s squad also includes two reserves: Ingabire Georgette and Umutoni Chanceline.

Here is the full squad representing Rwanda:

  1. Diane Bimenyimana (Bat/Bowler) – Captain

  2. Mervielle Uwase (Wicketkeeper batter)

  3. Gisele Ishimwe (Bat/Bowler)

  4. Henriette Therese Ishimwe (Bat/Bowler)

  5. Clarrisse Umutoniwase (Left hand batter)

  6. Belyse Murekatete (Bowler/Batter)

  7. Alice Ikuzwe (Bat/Bowler)

  8. Geovanis Uwase (Bat/Bowler)

  9. Rosine Irera (Off Spinner)

  10. Josiane Nyirakundineza (Bolwer )

  11. Immaculate Muhawenimana (Bowler)

  12. Rosette Shimwamana (Off Spinner )

  13. Flora Irakoze (Wicketkeeper batter)

  14. Shakila Niyomuhoza (Batter)

The team is eager to defend their title and showcase their growing prowess in women’s cricket on an international stage.

Absa Captain’s Bell Tournament: Rugumayo victorious as Paul Rukundo is ushered in

Previous article

Cricket Cranes receive grand send-off from minister Ogwang

Next article