CricketRCA Mens T10 League

RCA MEN’S T10: Challengers secures victory in thrilling final against IPRC Kigali



IPRC 82/5 in 10 overs
Challengers 83/4 in 9 overs

Challengers won by 6 wickets

In a riveting conclusion to the RCA Men’s T10 league showdown between Challengers and IPRC Kigali CC, cricket aficionados were treated to an exhibition of skill, strategy, and unyielding resolve, culminating in Challengers seizing victory by 6 wickets over the reigning champions.

IPRC earned their spot in the final by overcoming Righ Guard CC, while Challengers outplayed Indorwa to secure their place in the ultimate showdown.

The final match unfolded with palpable tension, as Challengers asserted their dominance early by opting to bowl first after winning the toss.

Their decision paid dividends as they restricted IPRC Kigali CC to a modest 82/5 in 10 overs.

Notable performances from Oscar Manishimwe, who scored 27 runs, and Daniel Gumysenge, with 22 runs, were overshadowed by Challengers’ bowling prowess.

Led by Ugandan Steven Wabwose, who claimed 2 crucial wickets, and Zappy Bimenyimana, whose economical spell stifled IPRC’s scoring opportunities, Challengers maintained tight control over the proceedings.

Challengers’ pursuit of victory in the chase was initially fraught with adversity, losing early wickets including Martin Akayezu and Steven Wabwose for ducks.

However, Eric Niyomugabo’s resilient 21 runs provided a foundation for the innings.

Despite a momentary setback following Niyomugabo’s dismissal, Didier Ndikubwimana’s unbeaten 39 runs, supported by contributions from Zappy Bimenyimana, propelled Challengers towards their target.

The partnership between Ndikubwimana and Bimenyimana exemplified the team’s resilience under pressure, ultimately guiding Challengers to victory with a total of 83/4 by the end of the 9th over.

In the bowling department for the defending champions, Eric Kubwimana, Emile Rukirize, and IPRC captain Iradukunda Jean Michel each claimed a wicket.

However, their efforts proved insufficient in thwarting Challengers’ determined pursuit of victory.

With Challengers Cricket Club crowned champions of the RCA T10 league, attention now shifts to the upcoming T20 League, set to commence in just one week’s time.

Individual awards

Player of the tournament- Martin Akayezu (Challengers)
Best Bowler- Rukundo Jean Pierre (IPRC)
Best Batter- Isae Niyomugabo (IPRC)

Best fielder- Didier Ndikubwimana (Challengers CC)


Photo credits; Ishimwe Abdoulkahal

Wendy Angudeyo: UGC Lady Captain announces hosting of the Captain’s Prize

Previous article

UPL: UPDF completes double over BUL

Next article