St Lawrence UniversityUganda Christian UniversityUganda Martyrs UniversityUniversity Football League

Pepsi University Football League: St Lawrence to face Uganda Martyrs University in their second consecutive final


St Lawrence University will play their second consecutive final as they lock horns with Nkozi based University, Uganda Martyrs who have returned to the Final of the Pepsi University Football League after four years

The final will be hosted at MTN OMONDI Stadium, Lugogo on Saturday, 12th November 2022

St Lawrence’s starting lineup against MUBS in their last game.

Uganda Martyrs University line up against UCU in their previous game.

How did both teams reach the final?

Uganda Martyrs, Nkozi knocked out defending Champions Uganda Christian University 5-4 in a penalty shoot out after a one all aggregate score.

Uganda Martyrs’ journey to the final.

For St. Lawrence University, they convincingly beat MUBS 5-1 to book their ticket in the final.

St Lawrence’s journey to final.

Ahead of the game, Captains from each side assured their respective fans of victory;

Uganda Martyrs University, Nkozi captain Masoud Kafumbe.

We’ve taken long without winning the title and our focus is to add a second to our name. We also want to write our names in history,”

St. Lawrence University Captain Umar Kayemba.

I think we have come back to win this title we know that our supporters still have that memory of us losing to UCU in the last finals, but the team has reorganized, and we will not disappoint them.”

Game Officials 

Centre Referee – George Nkurunziza

Assistant 1– Ahmed Kakembo

Assistant 2– Timothy Gumisiriza

Fourth Official – Ali Kaddu Kizza

Accessor – Brian Nsubuga Miiro

Before the final there will a third place classification game between Uganda Christian University and Makerere University Business School.

Past Winners:

2022 -?

2019 – Uganda Christian University (UCU)

2018 – Kyambogo University

2017 – Uganda Martyrs University, Nkozi

2016 – Kampala University

2015 – Makerere University Business School (MUBS)

2014 – Makerere University Business School (MUBS)

2013 – Kampala University

2012 – Makerere University

Uganda win CECAFA U20 after rallying from behind to defeat South Sudan

Previous article

UMU lifts 2022 University Football League trophy

Next article