BadmintonPara - badminton

Nazziwa clinches Silver for Uganda at the Para Badminton International tournament in Lugogo


Sarah Nazziwa collected silver at the 2024 Uganda Para Badminton International tournament at the Lugogo Indoor Arena on Sunday afternoon.

The Uganda Para Badminton Wheel chair 1 star Nazziwa was one of the five who collected the fancied medals from the 7-day tournament.

Despite falling to Brazil’s Juscileia De Carvalho Silva 2-1 in a three set game, Sarah Nazziwa, it didn’t stop the Ugandan from collecting a medal.

Coming into the tournament as underdogs depending on conditions that most of them cited as unfavorable at the start, the attempt has been termed as a successful one.

In an interview with Nazziwa after the game, she cited transport In Uganda as one of her challenges;

“Transport has not been easy but am glad I found a way to manage it.” She said

Nazziwa was moving on a boda boda to come for tournament for the last six days till she reached the final.

Talking about reaching the final, she came out to say that ;

“This achievement is huge for me, my Country and Coaches. What has mainly helped me is training because having been going to different tournaments so the consistency was bound to be there”

“For my opponents, before I play any of them I make lots of research about them and get to know how they play but as you know the more you advance the harder the opponent”

“As I collect 2028 Olympic points, Previously have been ranked 14th but I expect to be around the top Ten(10) individuals when the results return.” she concluded

The other medalists for Uganda collected bronze and these included; Sumin Mutesi (Standing Upper 5), Rose Nansereko( Singles standing Lower 3), Flavia Basuuta (Wheel chair 1) and Brian Mugabe + Ali Mukasa (Wheel chair 1&2) who played in the doubles.

All podium winners;

Uganda Para Badminton Tournament

Men’s Singles Standing Lower 4


Abhijeet Sakhuja Vs Surya Kant Yadav  2-0 (21-13, 21-17) (all Indian final)


1. Abhijeet Sakhuja

2. Surya Kant Yadav

3. Harshit Choudhury (India)

3. Deep Ranjan Bisoyee

Men’s singles Standing Upper 5


Jatin Azad (India) Vs Ibrahim Aliyev (Azebeijan) 2-0 (21-14,21-16)


1. Jatin Azad

2. Ibrahim Aliyev

3. Karan Paneer (India)

   3. Vikram Singh (India)

Men’s Singles Standing Lower 3


Kartik Suhag Vs Vijendra (all Indians) 2-0 (21-17,21-17)


1. Kartik Suhag

2. Vijendra

3. Dinesh Rajaiah (India)

   3. Balakeshavulu Jonnalagadd Adinarayana ( India)

Women’s Singles Standing Lower 3


Neeraj (India) Vs Maria Guadalupe Rojas  Perez (Mexico) 2-0 (21-11,21-14)


1. Neeraj

2. Maria Guadalupe Rojas Parez

3. Rose Nansereko (Uganda)

   3. Amudha Saravanan (India)

Women’s Singles Standing Upper 5


Arati Janoba Patil Vs Latika Latika (all Indians) 2-0 (21-16,21-15)


1. Arati Janoba Patil

2. Latika Katika

3. Swati Swati (India)

   3. Sumin Mutesi (Uganda)

Women’s Singles Wheel Chair 1


Juscileia De Carvalho Silva (Brazil) vs Sarah Nazziwa (Uganda) 2-1 (18-21,21-3,21-7)


1. Juscileia De Cavalho Silva

2. Sarah Nazziwa

3. Flavia Basuuta (Uganda)

   3. Anusha Chidananda (India)

Men’s Singles Wheel Chair 1


Konstantin Afinogenov (Israel) Vs Marcelo Alves Conceicao (Brazil) 2-0(21-19,24-22)


1. Konstantin Afinogenov

2. Marcelo Alves Conceicao

3. Poorna Rao Chapara (India)

   3. Kantharajanak Ravinaik (India)

Women’s Singles Wheel Chair 2

Played on round robin


1. Ruchi Trivedi

2. Shana Shabana

3. Mary Nakhumicha Zakayo(Nigeria)

   3. Elizabeth Atieno Ogonji (Nigeria)

Men’s Singles Wheel Chair 2


Munna Khalid (India) Vs Julio Cesar Godoy (Brazil) 2-1 (14-21,21-19,21-18)


1. Munna Khalid

2. Julio Cesar Godoy

3. Nurul Hussein Khan (India)

   3. Ali Mukasa (Uganda)

S-SH 6 Final

Sudarshan Saravanakumar Muthusamy  Vs Nithin Thazhe (All India) 2-0 (21-10,21-6)


1. Sudarshan Saravanakumar Muthusamy

2. Nithin Thazhe

3. Latatai Parmeshwar Umrekar

   3. Suresh Kumar Bokolia (India)

Dalidi, Njeri conquer Kampala Club Championship Squash tournament

Previous article

Soroti City Cricket Club off to a flying start in the mens UG20 League

Next article