Masaza Cup

Masaza Cup: Busiro takes on Bulemeezi in final

The Kattikiro of Buganda Owek. Charles Peter Mayiga and Airtel officials during the launch of the Airtel Buganda Masaza Football tournament at Bulange in Mengo, Kampala. - [Courtesy airtel uganda]

The Masaza Cup final will take place tomorrow, Saturday 26th November 2019 at the Nelson Mandela National Stadium, Namboole.

Gomba were the first side to lift this trophy in 2004, and still hold the record for the most successful team, having won the Masaza Cup (4 times).

Unfortunately, they will be watching from the Stands as Busiro tussle it out with Bulemeezi in the 2019 Final  – an event to be graced by the Kabaka of Buganda Muwenda Mutebi II.
Busiro takes on 2012 Champions, Bulemeezi as they search for their first Masaza Cup title.

Busiro defeated Buddu 3-1 on aggregate to reach their maiden final while the 2012 champions defeated Kyadondo to book for a place in the finals.

Deo Serwadda, the Head Coach of Busiro, will hope to win his first title in the Masaza with services from Mickidad Senyonga, Ivan Sserubiri, Paul Wasswa, and Gerald ” Mwenda” Ogwetti.

Simon Peter Mugerwa, Bulemeezi headcoach will also be hoping to use the works of Gabriel Eragu and his experience from the Masaza past editions to help Bulemeezi lift the trophy for the second time.

Simon Mugerwa is the defending Champion of the trophy, having won it with Singo after defeating Buddu last year via kicks from the penalty mark.

Dennis Mwemezi, pacy forward (Ssese) still leads the top scorers with 7 goals, as Nsimbe Badru Jibril 6 goals (Ssingo) and Gerald Ogwetti 5 goals (Busiro) trail on.

Gerald will need more than 3 goals to change the top scorers’ chart as they take on Bulemeezi.

Match Officials.
Centre Referee: Brian Miiro Nsubuga
1st Asst: Mark Ssonko
2nd Asst: Catherine Nagadya
4th official: Ali Sabila
Referee Assessor: George Katumba

Winners Prize:
Winner: 12 Million
Runners Up: 9 Million
3rd Place: 7 Million
4th Place: 5 Million

Previous Winners since 2004:

Gomba – 2004
Mawokota -2005
Kooki – 2006
Mawokota- 2007
Kyadondo – 2008
Gomba 2009
2010 Not held
Bululi -2011
Mawokota- 2013
Gomba- 2014
Ssingo- 2015
Buddu- 2016
Gomba- 2017
Ssingo- 2018

Lillian Namaganda

Review: New entrants shine on Matchday III

Previous article

Women Super League: 1st Division fixtures revealed

Next article


Comments are closed.