CricketKwibuka Women’s tournamentRwanda Cricket AssociationUganda Cricket AssociationVictoria Pearls

Kwibuka Tournament 2024: Proscovia and Immaculate 92-Run Partnership Propels Uganda to Victory Over Zimbabwe A


Results for Matchday Three

Botswana Vs Rwanda

Rwanda 132/7 in 20 overs

Botswana 58 all out in 19.4 overs

Rwanda won by 74 runs

Malawi Vs Kenya

Kenya 106/8 in 20 overs

Malawi 73/7 in 20 overs

Kenya won by 33 runs

Cameroon Vs Nigeria

Cameroon 26 all out in 18.2 overs

Nigeria 27/1 in 3.5 overs

Nigeria won by 9 wickets

Zimbabwe A Vs Uganda

Uganda 165/2 in 20 overs

Zimbabwe A 90 all out in 15.4 overs

Uganda won by 75 runs

Immaculate Nakisuyi and Proscovia Alako formed a formidable partnership, leading Uganda to an emphatic victory against the in-form Zimbabwe A team.

Their remarkable 92-run stand off just 52 balls was a key factor in Uganda’s dominant performance.

Winning the toss and electing to bat first, Uganda capitalized on their decision with a strong start.

Nakisuyi scored a brisk 52 off 42 balls, while Alako impressed with 62 off 41 balls.

Their efforts propelled Uganda to a formidable total of 165/2 in 20 overs.

Zimbabwe A’s bowlers, Kelis Ndhlovu and Michelle Mavunga, managed to take a wicket each but could not stem the flow of runs.

In response, Zimbabwe A struggled to build momentum and were bowled out for a mere 90 in 15.2 overs.

Uganda’s bowling attack was spearheaded by Sarah Walaza, who claimed 3 wickets. She was well supported by Timong Patricia and Immaculate Nandera, each taking two wickets.

Uganda secured a comprehensive 75-run victory to remain unbeaten in the tournament.

This win places Uganda in second position in the tournament standings, trailing only behind Rwanda due to net-runrate.

As the tournament progresses, all teams will take a rest day tomorrow, except for Nigeria and Kenya, who are set to face each other in the morning.



Uganda secures sweet revenge against Nigeria at Kwibuka Tournament

Previous article

Police FC crowned 2023/24 FUFA Big League Champions

Next article