FIBA AfroBasket 2021 Qualifiers: Uganda drawn in group E


Uganda has been pitted in Group E alongside African giants Egypt and Morocco ahead of next year’s FIBA AfroBasket Qualifiers.

The draws were held on Friday afternoon in Kigali, Rwanda at the Kigali Arena where the FUBA was represented by President Nasser Sserunjogi.

Another country will join the group E after the Zone 3 preliminary tournament next year in January to make it 4 teams in the group.

The SilverBacks were given a bye in the first round of the qualifiers after ranking among the best 15 teams in Africa and will now face an uphill task against north-African giants Egypt and Morocco for a place in the 2021 FIBA AfroBasket finals in Kigali, Rwanda.

Egypt is a 5-time AfroBasket Champions (1962, 1964, 1970, 1975, 1983) while Morocco won the tournament in 1965.

In February 2020, the first tournament of the second phase of the FIBA AfroBasket qualifiers will take place at a yet to be confirmed venue, while the second tournament will be later in 2021 before a final tournament phase in February 2021.

In the other groups, champions Tunisia are in group A with the Central Africa Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo and the winner from Zone 6 and 7.

AfroBasket hosts Rwanda are in group D with Nigeria, Mali and the winners of Zone I and II while Senegal are up against Angola, Mozambique, and the winner from Zone 5 in group B.

Uganda will hope to make its third-ever appearance in FUBA AfroBasket after making its debut at the 2015 tournament in Tunisia and later making it 2 in 2 at the 2017 FIBA AfroBasket tournament in Senegal where they managed to finish 13th, 2 positions better than their debut finish.

The top 3 teams from each group will get automatic spots at the 2021 finals in Rwanda.

Some of the facts to note;
  • The last time Uganda played against Morocco in an AfroBasket tournament, the Silverbacks lost by 9 points (70-79)
  • The last meeting between Uganda and Egypt happened earlier this year and the North African giants won 73-64.

Group A

Tunisia, Central Africa Republic, DRC, Zone 6, 7

Group B

Senegal, Angola, Mozambique, Zone 5

Group C

Cameroon, Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Zone 4

Group D

Nigeria, Mali, Rwanda, Zone 1, 2

Group E

Morocco, Egypt, Uganda, Zone 3

Kamardin Shero
Senior sports Editor at The Touchline Sports | Am down to earth person with a great heart of always wanting to assist where possible.

Bundesliga matchday 17 preview – final bend to the winter-break

Previous article

Uganda seeded in pot 2 ahead 2022 FIFA World Cup draws

Next article


Comments are closed.