CHAN 2021: All eyes set on the 6th edition in Cameroon

chan 2021

The 6th edition of the African Nations Championships commonly known as the CHAN is set to kick off on the 16th January to the 7th February 2021 in Cameroon.

The CHAN tournament differs from the Africa cup of Nations as players who feature in their native/local leagues are the ones allowed to participate in the qualifications and the final tournament.

The tournament was initially slated to take place from January to February 2020 but due to the fact that Ethiopia who had the hosting rights turned down the opportunity, admitting that they were not ready for the tournament, Cameroon were awarded the hosting rights and tournament dates pushed to the 4th up to 25th April 2021.

The tournament failed to commence on the new dates as the nation faced the covid 19 pandemic which halted the sporting sector alongside which various activities were called off during lockdown, a situation that saw the CHAN tournament being pushed to the current dates, starting from the 16th January 2021 to 7th February 2021.

The 2011 champions, Tunisia who had eliminated Libya to qualify for the tournament withdrew citing safety for their players and CAF banned them from participating in the next tournament, Libya was invited to replace Tunisia.

Djibouti and Gabon were also banned from participating in the 6th edition after they withdrew from the 2018 qualifiers.

The host Nation, Cameroon will open up the competition against Zimbabwe on the 16th January as Mali will be up against Burkina Faso in the group A fixtures.

The 6th edition sees Togo making their first appearance in the final tournament and they will be marking their first appearance against the defending champions of Morocco in group C. East African neighbours Uganda and Rwanda complete the other slots of teams in group C.

The competition’s group of death seems to be group B with teams having a combined total of three trophies, DR Congo has two championships to their name while Libya hold one.

Congo Brazzavile and Niger complete group B teams. Group D has Zambia, Guinnea, Namibia and Tanzania.

Cameroon will host the CHAN tournament in four stadiums across three cities including; Limbe stadium in Limbe, Stade Ahmardon Ahidjo in Yaounde, Japoma stadium and Stade de La Reunification in Douala were Uganda is currently not camped.

CHAN Past Winners
Morocco – 2018
Dr. Congo – 2016
Libya – 2014
Tunisia – 2011
Dr. Congo – 2009 (inaugural)

Masaza Cup : Masikirano misses penalty as Kooki gets eliminated

Previous article

CHAN 2020: a look at Uganda’s group C opponents

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in CAF