ReportsUganda Premier League

Allan Okello wins inaugural Football 256 footballer of the year award


KCCA FC’s Allan Okello won the inaugural Football 256 footballer of the year award, a new footballer’s award organized by online Sports publication Football 256.

The award was organised as a means to commemorate the first anniversary of Football 256 website.

The forward, Allan Okello beat players Denis Onyango, Juma Balinya, Timothy Awany and Patrick Henry Kaddu to take home the prize.

The voting process which lasted for 2 months, an 3xercise carried out through the website’s online portal received a total of 98,162 votes of which Okello managed to earn a whopping 45,826 votes, while last season’s Uganda Premier League top scorer Juma Balinya came 2nd, closely with 36894 votes. Patrick Kaddu came third with 9850 voted followed by Denis Onyango who collected 3620 and Timothy Awany who had 1972 respectively.

Allan Okello was part of the team that won the CECAFA Kagame club championship with KCCA FC and also helped the Cranes to book a fifth consecutive return to Africa Nations Championship (CHAN).

Okello officially debuted for the senior national team on Sunday when he came off the bench to replace William Kizito Luwagga in the 65th minute

The youngster was thankful to the voters and dedicated the award to his fans for whom he promised to keep working hard to put up his best of his performances.

The Footba 256 Footballer of the year award was faced with some resistance from FUFA who had earlier sought for legal redress regarding the image rights of the players. But, this was to no effect as the Federation was fought to have the legal spine to prevent the process from going on normally.

Allan Okello, a KCCA FC graduate will be now looking forward to winning the second award in one year that is organised by the Football 256 rivals  FUFA, the Airtel FUFA player of the year award that is due to take place on 14th of December.

The KCCA FC forward was noted on the top V nominees running for the award alongside; Shafic Kagimu (URA FC) Musistafa kizza (KCCA FC), Allan Kayiwa (vipers SC) and Bright Anukani(Proline FC).

Henry Peter Mutebi

Kongor scores 20 points, level series for UCU

Previous article

SC Villa condemns Onduparaka to heaviest home defeat

Next article


Comments are closed.