FootballSport in History

A Decade that was – unraveling moments that defined the StarTimes Uganda Premier League and Uganda cup

| Courtesy of PML Daily

Ten years has been such a long time. Can you even remember it’s been within the last 10-years that Vipers SC has won all it’s 3 league titles?

It seems like a very long time ago, but some things remain fresh in people’s minds. Can you imagine, it’s been within the last 10-years that KCCA FC has won 5 of its thirteen league titles including a maiden double in 2016/17?

well, the decade that kicked with the Kitende based winning its first league title could happen again with the new one that begins tomorrow.

Here’s a recap of what you might have missed in the last 10-years of the Startimes Uganda Premier League and Uganda Cup seasons.

2009-10 Season

Bunamwanya SC (currently Vipers SC) were crowned champions of the Uganda Super League just 3-years after being promoted to Uganda’s top-flight, finishing with 74 points in 34 games. They beat Express’ Red Eagles to the title by 2-points.

Bunamwaya SC players pose with their medals after clinching the 2009/10 Uganda Premier League title | Courtesy photo

Top Scorer: Tony Odur (21) Bunamwanya SC

Relegated: Tigers FC, Maji  FC, Igaga Town Council, Hoima FC, and Arua Central FC.

Uganda Cup: Victors FC beat Simba 5-4 on penalties after a 1-all draw in 90 minutes.

2010-11 Season

Uganda Revenue Authority Football Club (URA FC) finished comfortably atop the Uganda Super League standings on 59 points, beating their closest challenger to the title by 11-points. It was their 4th and last title.

URA FC players pose with the trophy after piping KCCA FC to win their fourth Uganda Premier league title in 2010/11 | Courtesy photo

Top Scorer: Diego Hamis Kizza,  URA (14 goals)

Relegated: Fire Masters and Gulu United FC

Uganda Cup: Simba FC defeated URA 2-1.

2011-12 season

This comes off as one of the tightest title races we have witnessed this decade. With a few matches remaining to the end of the season, a decision to demote Fire Masters FC came off decisively ugly. The decision meant all matches involving the Kibuli best side had been canceled and results nullified.

Sam Simbwa’s Express FC who had garnered only 3-points against the Kibuli based side gained an advantage over URA FC who were leading the standings after losing 6 points in the due course. They finished just a point above Bunamwanya SC to be crowned the 2011-12 Uganda Super League Champions.

Express FC ended the season with 54 points while Vipers SC finished on 53 points

Bony Baigana (in white) is one of the few youngsters Sam Ssimbwa introduced to the Super League and went on to make history, helping Mukwano gw’abangi to their last League triumph | Courtesy of the Observer

Topscorer: Robert Ssentogo (URA) – 13 goals

Relegated teams: Hoima-Busia, UTODA, Fire Masters

Uganda Cup: URA beat Bunamwanya SC 1-0

2012-13 Season

KCCA FC won another Uganda Premier League title after a spell of 4 years. The Kasassiro Boys finished 7 points above URA FC to win their 9th League title with the help of players like Herman Wasswa who they had acquired from SC Villa in the January transfer window and went on to clinch the top scorer’s gong.

KCCA FC team that competed won the Uganda Super League in 2013 | Courtesy photo

Topscorer: Herman Wasswa ( Villa and KCCA) – 20 goals

Relegated: Victors, Aurum Roses and Waters FC

Uganda Cup: Victoria University beat Vipers on penalties 5-3 after a 1-all draw at Full time.

2013-14 Season

KCCA defended the title amidst stiff competition from SC  Victoria University. The Lugogo based side finished just a point above the University to win their 10th title.

KCCA FC successfully defended the Uganda Super League title in 2014 | Courtesy photo

Top scorer: Francis Olaki (Soana FC) – 15 goals.

Relegated: Masaka LC, Proline FC, and CRO FC

Uganda Cup: URA defeated KCCA FC 4-2 on penalties after a 2-all draw at full time.

2014-15 Season

Vipers, formerly Bunamwaya (renamed in 2012), led by Edward Golola won their 2nd league title in history in style. They ended the season with only one loss losing only 1 game in 38.

The Venoms had close ties with St. Mary’s School, Kitende winning the title with 17-players on the title-winning squad.

Kizito and Miya helped Vipers to the 2014/15 Uganda Premier League title | Courtesy photo

Top scorer: Robert Ssentogo (URA)- 15 goals

Relegated teams: Kira Young, Rwenshama FC, Entebbe FC

Uganda Cup: SC Villa defeated KCCA 3-0 after a replay at Namboole, in one of the most controversial Uganda Cup final in history.

2015-16 Season

After Sam Ssimbwa was let go, Mike Mutebi got his hands on his first league title when he propelled the Lugogo based side to their 11th league title in history.

KCCA FC players lift up their coach Mike Mutebi after guiding them to the 11th Uganda Premier League title | Courtesy photo

Top scorer: Robert Ssentogo (URA) – 18 goals

Relegated teams: Simba FC, Victoria University and Maroons FC

Uganda Cup: Vipers SC crowned their first Uganda cup title after beating resilient Onduparaka FC 3-0 at Nakivubo stadium.

2016-17 season

KCCA FC defended its title for the second time in 6 years beating off competition from Villa SC and Vipers SC who finished 2nd and 3rd positions respectively.

KCCA FC players celebrate after winning the Azam Uganda Premier League in the 2016/17 season | Courtesy photo

Top scorer: Geoffrey Sserunkuma (KCCA)- 21

Relegated: JMC Hippos, Lweza FC and Sadolin Paints FC

Uganda Cup: KCCA FC won the domestic double after beating Paidha Black Angels 2-0 in the final.

2017-18 Season

Vipers under Da costa won their third title after going the entire second round unbeaten. They finished their 30-games with 65 points, 4 ahead of their second-placed KCCA FC.

Vipers SC players celebrate after winning their 3rd Uganda Premier League title | Courtesy photo


Top scorer: Dan Mzei Sserunkuma (Vipers)- 17 goals

Relegated: UPDF FC,  Proline FC and Masavu FC

Uganda Cup: KCCA defeated Vipers SC 1-0 in the Uganda cup final to deny the Venoms their first domestic double.

2018-19 Season

Having done some recruitment in the 2 years, it was time for KCCA to get their hands back on the Uganda Premier League title. Did they? Well, not that comfortably but at least managed to finish 7 points adrift of arch-rivals Vipers SC.

KCCA FC players celebrate after clinching their 13th Uganda Premier League title | courtesy photo

Topscorer: Juma Balinya (Police FC) – 19 goals

Relegated: Ndejje University FC,  Paidha Black Angels, and Nyamityobora FC

Uganda Cup: Proline FC won a domestic double after beating Bright Stars 5-4 on penalty shootouts after a 1-all fulltime draw.

And here we are with the new decade. Which teams do you think will win the first Uganda Premier League and Uganda Cup titles?

Share with us your views in the comment section below.


Kamardin Shero
Senior sports Editor at The Touchline Sports | Am down to earth person with a great heart of always wanting to assist where possible.

Global Soccer Awards name Dortmund’s Hakimi in Arab’s Best

Previous article

Paul Muccurezi joins Vipers SC

Next article


Comments are closed.