CranesSenior Challenge Cup

Mckinstry names final 20-man CECAFA Squad – Express Skipper Galiwango falls out


The Uganda Cranes national team coach Jonathan McKinstry has confirmed his final 20 man squad that will play in the 2019 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup scheduled to start this weekend.

Express Skipper Disan Galiwango, Vipers winger Allan Kayiwa and KCCA FC’s Samuel Kato headline the names that miss out on the final squad for the tournament.

For Allan Kayiwa and Samuel Kato, maybe their quality versus their compatriots could be used as reasons for their drop, however, express FC’s left-back cum left-winger may not have given McKinstry an option to include him I’m his team.

Express FC’s Disan training with the Cranes team at Namboole Stadium | Courtesy photo

Galiwango has been in sublime form at Startimes Uganda Premier League side Express FC combining effectively with Kalanda and Ssenyondo to make the most formidable trio this season. A notable absence, isn’t it?

The Cranes features only two goalkeepers, something so rare especially in this era where injuries can strike at any moment. KCCA shot-stopper Charles Lukwago is the number one between the sticks deputized by Kyetume’s Joel Mutakubwa

Halid Lwaliwa will captain the side and is joined by fellow Vipers SC players Karim Watambala, Paul Willa, and talisman Fahad Bayo.

KCCA FC is the most represented club on the Cranes team with 6 players. Allan Okello, Nicholas Kasozi, Mustafa Kizza, John Revita, Muzamiru Mutyaba all make the cut with Charles Lukwago.

Steven Mukwala finally claims his place on the team after being dropped by Mcknistry on Wednesday evening only for Edrisa Lubega to pull out.

The Maroons FC striker on loan from Vipers SC has had the ball in the back of the net 10 times in 15 games with only Fahad Bayo and Ben Ocen close to him in top scorers chat.

Final squad list

Charles Lukwago (KCCCA FC) and Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume FC)

Paul Willa (Vipers SC), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA FC), John Revita (KCCA FC), Mustafa Mujuzi (Proline FC), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC) (Capt), Paul Mbowa (URA FC).

Shafiq Kagimu (URA FC), Karim Watambala (Vipers SC), Nicolas Kasozi (KCCA FC), Bright Anukani (Proline FC), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA FC)

Allan Okello (KCCA FC), Viane Sekajugo (Wakiso Giants), Joachim Ojera (URA FC), Ben Ocen (Police FC), Joel Madondo (Busoga United), Fahad Bayo (Vipers SC), Steven Mukwala (Maroons FC)

The 2019 CECAFA senior challenge cup will get underway on Saturday 7th December with the opening ceremony at Startimes Stadium, Lugogo as the hosts Uganda take on neighbors Burundi at 4 pm.

This year’s championship consists of 8 countries with Uganda pitted in group A alongside Burundi, Eritrea, Somalia, and Djibouti while group B consists of holders Kenya, Tanzania, Sudan, and Zanzibar.

In the second game of the day, Djibouti will lock horns with Somalia at Mandela National Stadium.

Kamardin Shero
Senior sports Editor at The Touchline Sports | Am down to earth person with a great heart of always wanting to assist where possible.

The SUPL numbers? How the Cranes are expected to line-up for the CECAFA

Previous article

Stanbic Uganda Cup: Kajjansi United, Synergy FC miss out

Next article


Comments are closed.