FUBA NBL Finals Game 7 preview: Canons look to complete historic comeback over Oilers


What – UCU Cannons  Vs City Oilers

When – Sunday 19th January 2020

Where – Lugogo Indoor Arena

Time- 5pm

This is it. The UCU Cannons are on the precipice of history as they head into sunday’s game against the 6times defending champions City Oilers. History has already been made as the Canons became the only side to force a game seven after being down 3-1 in the best of seven finals series.

UCU’s David Kongor, Chuma Fadhili and Baale Fayed have delivered occasionally in the last 2 games ( game 5 and 6 ) and have had a days rest to prepare themselves for a one game showdown with their first NBL Championship on the line.

The Canons have had the Oilers on their heels. This was evident through out Friday night’s game as the Oilers failed to play with the poise they typically display. Cannons were aggressive both defensively and offensively on the night to deny the defenders any chance of taking game 6.

Nick Natuhereza’s side are chasing their first NBL title in their history while the Oilers have won six titles consecutively since 2013.

UCU won the game one 67-57 after heroic Fadhili Chuma performance, in a game where both David Kongor and Coach Nick Natuhereza were ejected. Landry Ndikumana and James Okello ignited in game two  to level the series 1-all  after a convincing 79-72 oilers win.

Landry Ndikumana further spured in 29 points in game 3 to  place the Oilers into a hard fought 2-1 best of sevens lead.

The league then went into a presumable break to allow City Oilers prepare for the Basketball Africa League qualifying in Rwanda and after 40 days, the night hoops returned with game 4.

2019 USPA men’s basketballer of the year James Okello recorded a double double(20 points and 11 rebounds) on the day  to ignite the City Oilers into a well deserved 3-1 lead.

UCU’s David Kongor notched in 20 points to propel the Canons to their second victory over the Oilers in game 5 to take the best of seven finals series to 3-2.

Fayed Baale ignited in game 6 on Friday night as he scored 10 second half points to inspire the University side to a 77-72 victory over the holders and eventually pushed the finals to a game 7 that few saw coming.

Nick Natuhereza’s side lost 4-3 to City Oilers in the  2015 NBL finals and will hope to be second time lucky this time around so as to win their first historic title on their second attempt.

Past winners 

1995- Makerere

1996- Power

1997- Charging Rhino

1998- Falcons

1999- Falcons

2000- Sadoline Power

2001- Sky Jammers

2002- Falcons

2003- Falcons

2004- Falcons

2005- Nkumba Marines

2006- Nkumba Marines

2007- Falcons

2008- Sadoline Power

2009 – Kyambogo Warriors

2010 – DMark Power

2011-  DMark Power

2012  -Kyambogo Warriors

2013 -City Oilers

2014 – City Oilers

2015 – City Oilers

2016 – City Oilers

2017 -City Oilers

2018 – City Oilers

Kamardin Shero
Senior sports Editor at The Touchline Sports | Am down to earth person with a great heart of always wanting to assist where possible.

We lost as a team – Golola defends Mutombora

Previous article

Transfer Window: A look at all done deals

Next article


Comments are closed.