CricketRwanda Cricket AssociationRwanda Cricket Association

Challengers cruise past IPRC to defend RCA Men’s T20 league title

Challengers Cricket Club after receiving their Trophy


IPRC Kigali 115/9 in 20 overs
Challengers CC 119/4 in 14.2 overs

Challengers CC won by 6 wickets

Challengers Cricket Club defeated IPRC Kigali by 6 wickets with 34 balls to spare to win the RCA Men’s T20 League for the second consecutive year.

Last year, they clinched the title by beating Telugu Royals Cricket Club.

The match which was played yesterday from Gahanga International stadium saw Challengers dominated the game from the very start.

Winning the toss, they opted to bowl first and effectively restricted IPRC to 115/9 in 20 overs.

Manishimwe Oscar and Daniel Gumyusenge were the top scorers for IPRC, contributing 22 off 22 balls and 44 off 46 balls respectively, but their efforts were insufficient to set a defendable target.

The standout performance with the ball for Challengers came from Nadir Muhammad, who took 4 wickets for just 7 runs, including two maiden overs.

He was well supported by Zappy Bimenyimana with 2 wickets and Siraje Nsubuga with 1 wicket.

The chase was straightforward for the Challengers. An 80-run second-wicket partnership laid a strong foundation.

Hamza Khan scored 33 runs, while Eric Niyomugaba led the scoring with a brisk 51 off 37 balls.

Despite Jean Michel Iradukunda’s effort of taking 3 wickets for IPRC, Challengers comfortably reached their target, finishing at 119/4 in 14.2 overs to secure a 6-wicket victory.

In the tournament, Martin Akayezu was named MVP and best bowler, while Oscar Manishimwe was awarded best batter with a total of 257 runs in 7 innings.

Photo Credits: Ishimwe Abdoulkahal (RCA Media)

Avengers triumphs over JACC to claim Division two title

Previous article

Roger Mukasa’s half-century not enough for Uganda in first warm-up game

Next article