African FootballFootballSport Africa

Bafana Bafana: Hugo Broos names 23-man squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers

the touchline sports - Bafana Bafana: Hugo Broos names 23-man squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers

South Africa National Football team, Bafana Bafana, head coach Hugo Broos has named the 23-man squad for the upcoming 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers this website has learned.

South Africa will be facing Ghana and Zimbabwe in their opening qualifiers for Qatar 2022 next month. Hugo Broos initially named a provisional squad of 31 players before finally slashing it to the final 23.

According to kick-off, ‘this will be the first time Broos will sit in the dugout for Bafana after the originally scheduled qualifiers in June were postponed due to the Covid-19 travel restrictions in Africa’ forcing him to miss an international friendly game with Uganda.

Bafana will face the Warriors on Friday 3 September at the National Sports Stadium in Zimbabwe before hosting the Black Stars at FNB Stadium three days later.

South Africa’s final 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs)

Defenders: Nyiko Mobbie (Mamelodi Sundowns), Rushine De Reuck (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Haopel Tel Aviv, Israel), Thibang Phete (Belenenses, Portugal), Thabani Dube (Kaizer Chiefs), Sibusiso Mabiliso (Kaizer Chiefs)

Midfielders: Sipho Mbule (Supersport United), Teboho Mokoena (Supersport United), Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns), Njabulo Blom (Kaizer Chiefs) Ethan Brooks (TS Galaxy) Yusuf Maart (Sekhukhune United)

Forwards: Thabiso Kutumela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg United), Gift Links (Aarhus, Denmark), Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC), Victor Letsoalo (Royal AM), Luther Singh (FC Copenhagen, Denmark) & Percy Tau (Brighton & Hove Albion, England)

Edwin Musaazi

Vianne Ssekajugo: forward completes move to Tax Collectors

Previous article

KCCA FC: Kasasiro Boys announce signing of former Vipers SC defender

Next article


Comments are closed.