FUFA's Best Awards

Airtel FUFA Awards: Final 3 nominees for the Male and Female categories confirmed


The 5-man shortlist for the Airtel FUFA Male and Female player of the year has been reduced to the final 3 nominees in the two respective categories.

The initial list included 16 and 12 Male and Female nominees respectively which was then cut down to 5 in each category last month following a voting phase by SUPL coaches and captains.

In the Male category, the final 3 include Bright Anukani ( Proline FC), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA FC) and Allan Okello (KCCA FC).

Bright Anukani | Proline FC

| Courtesy photo

Bright Anukani guided Proline FC to winning both the StarTimes FUFA Big League and the Stanbic Uganda Cup. He was named the MVP in the StarTimes FUFA Big League last season.

Mustafa Kizza & Allan Okello | KCCA FC

| Courtesy photo

KCCA FC’s Mustafa Kizza and Allan Okello won the StarTimes Uganda Premier League, the FUFA Super Cup, and the CECAFA Kagame Cup and were part of the Cranes team that qualified for the 2020 Championship of African Nations (CHAN).

The top three nominees in the female category include Hasifah Nassuna, Juliet Nalukenge and Fauzia Najjemba who are all part of the Crested Cranes that is set to compete at the 2019 CECAFA Women’s Challenge Cup in Tanzania.

Juliet Nalukenge | Kawempe Muslim

| Courtesy photo

Nalukenge captained Uganda U17 Girls’ national team to winning the COSAFA Championship and she emerged top scorer with 18 goals. She helped Kawempe Muslim to win both the national and East Africa Secondary Schools championship and scored a record 58 goals in 2019

| Courtesy photo

Fauzia Najjemba, a student at Mukono High School who joined Kampala Queens recently was part of the Uganda U17 Girls’ national team that won the COSAFA Championship scoring 12 goals. She was joint to scorer in the FUFA Women Elite League (regular season) scoring 14 goals. Najjemba helped Mukono High School to win the Independence Cup, she finished as a top scorer both in the National Schools Championship and the East Africa Secondary Schools Championship scoring 14 and 10 goals respectively.

Hasifa Nassuna | UCU Lady Cardinals


| Courtesy photo

Hasifa Nassuna helped UCU Lady Cardinals to 2018-19 FUFA Women Elite League title, scored 3 goals in CECAFA and was MVP in FUFA Women Elite League with 16 goals.

The coaches’ and captains’ votes contribute 50% and 25% respectively in winner determination while the fans’ contribution is 25%.

The 2019 Airtel FUFA Awards dinner will be held on 14th December at Speke Resort Munyonoyo where the winners in two categories will drive away in new cars.

Other categories

Airtel FUFA Male Coach of the Year

  1. Abdallah Mubiru (Police FC)
  2. Mutebi Mike Hillary (KCCA FC)
  3. Bisaso Shafiq (Proline FC)

Airtel FUFA Women’s Football Coach of the Year

  1. Oliver Mbekeka (Lady Doves)
  2. Ayub Khalifa Kiyingi (Kawempe Muslim Ladies)
  3. Ndaula Fred (Makerere University)

Fair Play Award (based on a number of caution during the period considered)

  1. Police FC
  2. Maroons FC
  3. URA FC

Upcoming Talent Award (FUFA Juniors League)

  1. Mugweri Gavin Kizito (SC Villa)
  2. Anaku Sadat (KCCA SA)
  3. Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC JT)

Airtel FUFA Beach Soccer Player of the Year

  1. Luboyera Herbert (Mutola)
  2. Ochero Sulaiman (St Lawrence)
  3. Mutebi Ronald (St Lawrence)

Airtel FUFA Member Associations’ Award

  1. Uganda Beach Soccer Association (UBSA)
  2. Buganda region Football Association
  3. KCCA Football Club

Team Fans of the Year (FUFA Competitions)

  1. KCCA FC
  2. Onduparaka FC
  3. SC Villa
  4. Tooro United FC
  5. Acholi Province
  6. West Nile Province
  7. Lango Province
  8. Bunyoro Province
Kamardin Shero
Senior sports Editor at The Touchline Sports | Am down to earth person with a great heart of always wanting to assist where possible.

Tito Okello’s Acholi storm finals with win over Bugisu

Previous article

Kawempe Moslems dominate the U17 Girls CECAFA team as Ayub Khalifa names the final Squad

Next article


Comments are closed.