Acholi clinch 2nd edition of FUFA Drum after defeating Bukedi on penalties


Acholi province defeated Bukedi 5-3 on penalties to be crowned champions of the 2nd edition of the FUFA drum tournament after playing out a goalless draw in normal Time.

Acholi province beat Bukedi 5-3 on penalties in the 2019 final played at the Akii Bua stadium in Lira, a game watched by thousands of fans in the stands.

BUL FC player and Acholi skipper Denis Okot Oola scored the last penalty to ensure victory for his side after Aron Okoth’s effort was saved by Derrick Ochan in the shootout.

Buganda Province won the first edition of the competition that was held last year in a completely different format as compared to the 2nd edition.

Vipers’ Tito Okello the top scorer of the tournament with 8 goals was awarded the man of the match award and the tournament’s top scorers’ accolade.

Lango’s Bronson Nsubuga was named the Most Valuable Player of the tournament while Bukedi’s goalkeeper Derrick Emukule was named best goalkeeper of the tournament.


Derrick Emukule (G.K, Bukedi), Denis Okota Oola (Bukedi), Rashid Okocha (West Nile), Benjamin Nyakoojo (Tooro), Slyvester Okello (Acholi), Hudu Mulikyi (Acholi), Bronson Nsubuga (Lango), Fredson Gwot (Bukedi), Tito Okello (Acholi), Ibra Nsimbe (Bukedi) and Felix Okot (Acholi).

Best coach: Geofrey Akena – Acholi Province

Summary of result
Acholi 0-0 Bukedi
*Acholi win 5-3 after penalties

penalties taken
Tito Okello (scored), Alfred Okot ( scored), Richardson Asaba (
scored), Moses Okot ( scored), Denis Okot ( scored)

Disan Galiwango ( scored), Frank Kalanda ( scored), David Owori ( scored), Aron Okoth (missed)

How the teams lineup
Acholi province
Derrick Ochan (G), Denis Okot Oola, Silvester Okello, Walter Ochora, Ronald Owing Ogenga, Felix Okot, Moses Okot (55’ Alfred Onek), Fred Agandu (Richardson Asaba), Hudu Mulikyi (85’ Norman Ojik), Isaac Otto, Tito Okello

Bukedi province
Derrick Emukule (G.K), Joseph Othieno, Yeseri Waibi, Benon Tahomera, Edward Kabona, Ibrahim Pengere, Paul Dumba, David Owori, Ibra Nsimbe (80’Frank Kalanda), Fredson Gwoto (85’ Stephen Okello), Iddi Babu (40’ Disan Galiwango)

Edwin Waiswa

Review: Cranes go top with win against Somalia

Previous article

We let the law take its course – KCCA FC reacts on Odumegwu arrest

Next article


Comments are closed.