Abeja, Katutsi emerge overall winners at the 2023 Captain’s Bell Tournament


Former Uganda Ladies Golf Union President Anne Abeja and Vincent Katusi emerged overall winners in the amateur event of the 2023 Captain’s Bell Tournament that was held on Saturday at Uganda Golf Club, Kampala.

Abel has a net score of 69 to beat her competitions while Katutsi shot a net score of 66 to win the men’s category of the main event.

Both the winner received a trophy, golf bag, two umbrellas and other goodies from Absa Bank Uganda.

260 golfers turned up to participate in this tournament – which is the highest number ever achieved for the tournament.

The Captain’s Bell tournament is an annual event hosted by the Uganda Golf Club, where the newly elected captain hosts members in a tournament and unveils his new committee at the beginning of his term in office.

Emmanuel Wamala is the captain while Paul Fitzgerald Nuwagaba is his Vice. These two were re-elected for a second term to lead the committee.

Speaking at the awarding ceremony, Absa Bank Uganda Managing Director Mumba Kalifungwa wished the club captain and committee the very best in their term in office.

“As the official banking sponsor, Absa Bank Uganda is proud to be associated with this tournament and to once again be a part of this competition and we hope to be part of this competitions for the next three years,” Kalifungwa said.

“By increasing the sponsorship budget from 57.8 Million last year to 133 Million this year, we are demonstrating our believe in Uganda Golf Club and the beautiful game of golf,”

“As we continue to collectively be part of the evolution of the game of golf, I appreciate each and every of the over 200 golfers that turned up for the Captain’s Bell tournament,” he added.

Marvin Kibirige emerged the Professional category after he posted a net score of 6 under par 138 to win the biggest share of the UGX 10M the professionals were competing for.

This year , the Piga Mingi award went to Sylvia Bideri while Annette Kiconci took the Ladies ‘ nearest to the pin award.

FUFA Big League: Mucureezi goal wins Kitara maiden title

Previous article

2023 Bika Football: First round games and dates confirmed

Next article