AFCONCranesFootballNational Teams

2023 AFCON Qualifiers: Uganda Hippos quartet included in Micho’s squad for Tanzanian double header


Four Uganda Hippos players have been named among the 30 players that were summoned by the Uganda Cranes head coach Milutin Sredojevic ” Micho” on Thursday morning.

Rogers Mugisha, Rogers Torach, Travis Mutyaba and Isma Mugulusi are the four youngster who have included in Micho’s provisional squad after having featured for the Uganda Hippos at the ongoing AFCON U20 Championship in Egypt.

Mugisha and Torach have received their maiden calls while Mugulusi and Travis have been in Crane’s fold for the past two years.

The 30-man squad also included South African- based goalkeeper Jamal Salim Magoola, who has been impressive for Richards Bay in the DSTV Premiership. Jamal returns to Cranes fold for the first time since 2021 after having fell out with the Federation.

This summoned squad will start preparations early next ahead of the first match of the double header against Tanzania on 27th March at the Suez Canal Stadium in Egypt.

The second match of the double header will take place four days later in Dar Es Salaam in Tanzania.

The Uganda Cranes currently sit bottom of group F with just a single point to show in their opening two games after having lost to Algeria in their opener before drawing with Niger in their second game.

The Uganda Cranes Provisional Squad

Goalkeepers – Jamal Salim Magoola (Richards Bay), Alionzi Nafian (URA), Charles Lukwago (St George), Joel Mutakubwa (Gaddafi)

Defenders – Gavin Kizito (Al Ittihad), James Begisa (URA), Aziz Kayondo (CD Leganes), Derrick Ndahiro (URA), Livingston Mulondo (Vipers), Geoffrey Wasswa (KCCA), Timothy Awany (Iron Ashdod), Halid Lwaliwa (FK Bregalnica), Kenneth Ssemakula (SC Villa), Rogers Torach (Vipers)

Midfielders – Siraje Sentamu (Vipers), Aucho Khalid (Yanga), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Austin), Steven Sserwadda (New York Red Bull II), Isma Mugulusi (Makedonikas), Allan Okello (KCCA), Farouk Miya (Caykur Rizespor)

Forwards – Emmanuel Okwi (Erbil), Rogers Mato (KCCA), Joseph Ochaya (Al Makawdoon), Travis Mutyaba (Villa), Steven Mukwala (Asante Kotoko), Fahad Bayo (MFK Vyskov), Richard Basangwa (Wadi Degla), Sadat Anaku (Dundee United), Rogers Mugisha (UPDF)

Magical Kenya Open: first batch of Ugandan Amateur golfers set off

Previous article

Vipers – Beto part ways

Next article