UVF: Nassiwu beats incumbent Hadijja Namanda, returns as the Volleyball President

Uganda Volleyball Federation (UVF)

Sadik Nassiwu has been voted the new Uganda Volleyball Federation (UVF) president after collecting 229 votes, beating incumbent Hadijja Namanda and Eddie Okila. The two collected 20 and 27 votes respectively while only five presidential votes returned as invalid.

The UVF elective Congress happened on Sunday 31st January at the Uganda Olympic Committee complex in Lugogo, where a three member Congress headed by Charles Kamunvi as the returning officer, Joseph Mary Ssempiira and Loius Bachu as the assistant returning officers announced Nassiwu as the dully elected president of UVF.

Nassiwu makes a return as the President of UVF after having served for the very first time in 2009 to 2016, a time when there was a lot achieved including the pioneering the start of the National Volleyball League and bringing sponsors on board.

Ahmed K. Abdallah won the 1st vice president race after collecting 153 votes ahead of Tonny Ashaba who got 103 votes and Adone Kakungulu with 23 votes. Salma Kairungi Otika also won the 2nd vice presidential slot.

The full list of the elected UVF committee:
1. Sadik Nassiwu – President
2. Ahmed K Abdallah – 1st Vice president
3. Salmah Kairungi Otika – 2nd Vice President
4. Godwin Nakaana Ssenyondo – General Secretary
5. Eunice Nuwabigaba – Assistant genera secretary
6. Odong Joseph – Treasurer

District Representatives
1. Innocent Komakech – East/North
2. Elisha Kamuhimbise – West/South (unopposed)
3. Joshua Osiya – Central (unopposed)

Club Representatives
1. Ashaba Levian
2. Cissy Musiime
3. Kenneth Wakibi

Saidi Kyeyune: Uganda Cranes midfielder completes move to Sudanese giants

Previous article

Diaspora: Uche and Atamba on target as Denis Onyango registers another clean sheet – how Ugandan professionals fared over the weekend

Next article