AFCONCECAFAU17 Championship

U17 AFCON Qualifiers: Uganda’s opponent withdraws from the regional tournament


The Rwandese Football Federation, FERWAFA has confirmed that their U17 National Team will not participate in this year’s U17 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers in Ethiopia.

This was confirmed by CECAFA on Monday morning after having received communication from FERWAFA  that they will not be able to send their U17 team to Addis Ababa for the qualifiers due to financial reasons.

The qualifiers are set to take place between October 1st and October 14th at Abebe Bikila Stadium.

With the withdraw of Rwanda, group B Will consist of Uganda, Burundi, Djibouti and Sudan.

Furthermore, CECAFA has also confirmed that Eritrea won’t also take part in the qualifiers due to also financial reason so group A will also have only four teams that includes the hosts Ethiopia, Tanzania, Somalia and South Sudan.

Uganda are the defending champions of this tournament, having won the trophy in 2020 in Rwanda.

The two best teams from this tournament will qualify for the 2023 AFCON U17 finals in Algeria next year.


A: Ethiopia, Tanzania, Somalia, South Sudan
B: Uganda, Djibouti, Sudan, Burundi

She Cranes squad for the International series named

Previous article

StarTimes UPL: Okello to don shirt number 10 as KCCA confirms squad numbers for new season

Next article