Uganda Premier League

Review: URA FC take all 3 in the first SUPL match of the new decade

URA FC players celebrating their first goal| Courtesy photo

The 2019-20 Startimes Uganda premier league second round campaign resumed on Tuesday  after barely 2 months without league action. 

URA FC  hosted SC Villa at the Arena of vision stadium , Ndejje University while the other scheduled fixture between Tooro United and Onduparaka FC was abandoned due to failure by the two teams to present the required players licenses needed for the match to take place.

At the Arena of Visions stadium, the Tax collectors came away with all 3 as they defeated SC Villa 2-0 courtesy of Daniel Isiagi and Micheal Birungi goals.

In the 2nd minute , Forward Daniel Isiagi headed home the first goal of the second round off a well taken Shafic Kagimu cross to give the host an early lead.

12 minutes afterwards, URA FC missed out on a golden chance to double their lead after a Joachim Ojera’s pass found Daniel Isiagi unmarked in the box but the striker put his effort above the cross bar.

Joachim Ojera was once again at the heart of action as his shot was brilliantly saved by SC Villa goalie Saidi Keni before halftime to keep the Joggos into the game. 

In the second Stanza, Micheal Birungi came on  Ssenyonga Mikdad  and it never took long for him to find the back of the net after great work by skillful Joachim Ojera to extend the tax collector’s lead to 2-0 with 25 minutes left on the clock.

SC Villa’s best scoring chance in second half fell to substitute Ronald Magwali but the forward was denied by the crossbar with Alionzi well beaten in goal.

URA FC who have condemned the 16 times SUPL champions to their 3 league loss , have now garnered 23 points in 16 games while SC Villa remains 4th on 27 points collected so far.

URA Starting XI: Alionzi Nafian (GK), Ashiraf Mandela, Hudu Mulikyi, Mutyaba Julius, Yeseri Waibi, Benjamin Nyakojo, Shafic Kagimu, Saifi Kyeyune, Joachim Ojera Mikidadi Ssenyonjo, Isiagi Daniel.

SC Villa Starting XI: Saidi Keni, Ibrahim Kibumba, Moses Kiggundu, Asuman Harishe, Yayo Lutimba, Emmanuel Kalyoowa, David Owori, Emmanuel Wasswa, Ambrose Kirya, Fahad Badiro, Faisal Muwawu,

Man of the match: Benjamin Nyakojo

Nyakojo Benjamin with his man of the match accolade | courtesy photo


Kamardin Shero
Senior sports Editor at The Touchline Sports | Am down to earth person with a great heart of always wanting to assist where possible.

SUPL Preview: SC Villa aims to start second round on a high, Onduparaka set to start life without Mbabazi

Previous article

Former KCCA and Villa defender Kavuma joins second division side Katwe United

Next article


Comments are closed.