Uganda Premier League

Review: Bbosa guides ten-men Express past Onduparaka


A few days after replacing George Ssimwogerere, Wasswa Bbosa helped Express FC secure a vital 1-0 away win over Onduparaka in the Startimes Uganda Premier league encounter at Green light Stadium, Arua

The first half of the game was dull as no side showed real agency of finding the back of the net. The only goalscoring chance fell to  Onduparaka’s Hassan Muhammad but his  effort was ruled out for offside in the 32nd minute.

In the second half, Express’s Lawrence Kigonya received his matching orders after committing a clumsy challenge on Joel Jagayambe for a second bookable offense in the 56th minute and consequently be sent off. He was earlier shown the first yellow card in the first stanza of the game.

Onduparaka FC  pushed had to capitalize on the red card advantage but Bbosa’s ten-man Express stood firm to deny the caterpillars any chance of finding the back of the net.

After brilliantly set-up by Daniel Shabena in the 85th minute, Second half substitute Frank Ssenyondo, who came on for Frank Kalanda  shoot the ball into the far post of the goal with onduparaka goalie Yusuf Wasswa well beaten to hand the red eagles a late lead into the game

A win meant that Express received their first win against Onduparaka in eight attempts as Wasswa Bbosa becomes the first manager to win against Simeon Masaba’s side with three different clubs ( SC Villa, Tooro United and Express FC).

Express are now out of the relegation zone moving to the 11th position with 24points as Onduparaka remain 5th on 30 points.

Onduparaka’s next game will be a visit to SC Villa in the SUPL at namboole. Express’ next game is against Maroons in the Uganda Cup tie at Wankulukuku.

Teams Used

Onduparaka XI

Yusuf Wasswa (GK), Ayiko Richard, Allan Busobozi, Muhammad Rashid (C), Andama Denis, Hassan Muhamood, Kakooza Rajab, Joel Jangeyambe, Malish Jamal, Okocha Richard, Malingumu Julius

Express XI

Tony Kyamera (GK), Muhammad Yiga, Hamisi Batega, Martin Kizza, David Kakeeto, Daniel Shabena, Isaac Doka Mweru, Lawrence Kigonya, Dissan Galiwango (C), Eric Kambale, Frank Kalanda

Edwin Waiswa

NRC: Rukaari-Lake Mburo rally to honour the late Muhangi.

Previous article

Buganda Region: Lugazi Municipal appoints Emil Amasha as their new Head Coach

Next article


Comments are closed.