BasketballCity Oilers Basketball ClubNBL

NBL: Last time a team other than City Oilers won the League


By Martin Mugambi
The last time a team other than City Oilers won the National Basketball league Title, Allawi Ssenkubuge was a 9 year old probably in a lower primary class. He is now a player with the record champions. 

But there is an even more mind blowing fact, no team has ever won an NBL title in a season where City Oil was a member of the league.

In 2012, the Warriors won the best-of-seven series 4-2 with a game to spare after defeating the Falcons 88-81 in game 6.

Warriors had previously lost two straight finals to Power, but the team was revitalized by new addition Norman Blick, who also finished as the playoffs MVP. 

This is the same year City Oilers were promoted to the topflight from the lower Division.

Guess who was on the sidelines as the Warriors’ coach that year! Mandy Juruni. He switched to the new money bags the next season and 8 consecutive championships later withOilers, he wouldn’t have asked for any finer fairytale. 

Mandy was on the Oilers roster at its establishment as a coach player. The Mandy-Oilers  bromance is a match made in heaven.

Only three games stand between him and the Oilers’ ninth consecutive league title.

KIU Titans are entrusted with deposing City Oilers, dubbed the “dictator” by many. 

KIU was able to revive their chances on Wednesday night, keeping the best-of-seven series tied at 2-1. Game Four will be on at the MTN Indoor Arena in Lugogo.

UFL: IUIU down 10-man YMCA

Previous article

All of Uganda Cup past winners

Next article