AFWCONCrested CranesFootballWomenWomen Football

The Uganda Crested Cranes win their maiden CECAFA tittle


The Crested Cranes of Uganda were crowned Winners of the 2022 CECAFA Senior Women’s Championship after winning the final against at FUFA Technical Centre, Njeru on Saturday.

This final attracted different guests from all over East Africa but the most notable ones were; the Speaker of Parliament of Uganda, Rt. Hon. Anita Annet Among and former Vice President Edward Ssekandi as guests of Honour.

Back to the main celebrants of the day, Uganda Crested Cranes, they emerged as 3-1 winners in order to clintch their first time CECAFA trophy.

The Cranes started off in a good mood and took the lead as early as the second(2nd) minute with Sandra Nabweteme pulling off her skills to put the ball past Burundi goalkeeper Amissa Inarukundo and her defenders.

Another goal appeared just two minutes minutes left on the clock when Fazila Ikwaput ran to goal with the ball cut in to the left to go past defender Diane Irankunda dribbling the goalkeeper with two touches before putting scoring into an empty net making it 2-0.

Within a blink of an eye, four minutes into the second stanza, Burundi struck courtesy of their best player on the pitch at that moment, Joelle Bukuru to making it 2-1.

Uganda continued to have a number of chances through Ikwaput and Nabweteme but the Burundi defenders were alert. Eventually after trying couple of times,  Nabweteme sealed the deal one minute into stoppage time setting the fans into satisfaction.

In the third place fight game, Tanzania was edged by Ethiopia 2-1 the Ethiopian goals were scored by Turist Lema and Tadesse Bizuayehu while Twiga stars’ consolation was put in by their top scorer Opa Clement to collect a bronze medal in the first game of the day.

All  Awards as given out on the day;

Winners– Uganda Crested Cranes

1st Runners up – Burundi Women

2nd Runners up – Ethiopia Women

MVP – Fazila Ikwpaut (Uganda Crested Cranes)

Top Scorer – Opa Clement (Tanzania) with 7 Goals.

Best Goalkeeper – Daisy Nakaziro (Uganda Crested Cranes)

Fairplay Award – Tanzania

Jeremiah Mugalu

Futsal Super League: Park extend lead atop to three points

Previous article

Makueth Wol signs for South Sudanese side

Next article