AFCON U20Hippos

AFCON U20: seven slashed from Hippos squad

Uganda Hippos slashed to 30

The Uganda U20 National Football Team head coach Morley Byekwaso has today released players seven (7) players from the Hippos camp as they continue preparations for the upcoming AFCON U20 Tournament.

The Hippos started training last week on Thursday 20th January 2021, and the players have been involved in stiff competition for the different positions while working hard to make it to the final squad that will travel for the AFCON U20 finals in Mauritania.

Team coach Byekwaso still believes the dropped players are good and he was impressed by their attitude during training.

He told the FUFA Media that the decision based on to release the seven was dependent on their fitness levels.

“We have training for over 4 days and we had to reduce the number of players in the squad. All the players we summoned are good but we depended so much on their fitness levels.”

“I’m impressed by the players’ attitude during training. We had no choice but they are still in our setup, fortunately, they may be summoned yet again. We shall select the final 25 who will travel for AFCON in a few days from now.”

The Hippos will have a practice match on Wednesday 27th January against KCCA FC at the MTN Omondi Stadium Lugogo.

Uganda Hippos will have a practice match on Wednesday 27th January against KCCA FC at the MTN Omondi Stadium Lugogo.

Kayondo Abdu Aziizi (Vipers SC) and Byaruhanga Bobosi (Vipers SC) will join the rest of the players depending on the fate of Uganda Cranes in CHAN Tournament.

Here is a summary of the released players and current squad.

Released players

Kiberu Ronald (Synergy FC), Lutalo Umar (Aspire Academy), Kitaka Samuel Moses (Loughborough University-UK), Lotanna Obi Obedi (Big Talent), Mukisa Emmanuel (Kataka FC), Okur Swamadu (Kataka FC), Opio Odong (Luzira FC)

Current Squad

Komakech Jack (Ascent SA), Oyo Delton (Busoga United FC), Ssenyondwa Denis Kaala (SC Villa), Ochama Daniel (Boro Boro SuperSport FC

Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa), Semakula Kenneth (Busoga United FC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC) Kafumbe Joseph (KCCA FC), Kitabalwa Robert (Vipers SC), Begisa James Penz (UPDF FC), Baligeya Simon (Kibuli SS), Bbosa Richard (Express FC).

Mugulusi Isma (Busoga United FC), Yiga Najib (Vipers SC), Sserwadda Steven (KCCA FC), Alou John Kokas (URA FC), Eyamu Ivan (Mbarara City FC), Kawooya Andrew( KCCA FC), Asaba Ivan (Vipers SC), Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC), Wabyoona Faisal  (Big Talent SA).

Bogere Ivan (Proline FC), Ssenyonjo Samuel (KCCA FC), Kakooza Derrick (Police FC), Basangwa Richard (Vipers SC), Bukenya Joseph Kizza (KCCA FC), Onyai Raymond (Mbarara City FC), Mulindi Ashiraf  (Kataka FC), Ssali Alpha Thierry (Proline FC).

CHAN 2021: CAF and StarTimes announce an agreement to broadcast event in Sub-Saharan Africa

Previous article

U20 AFCON Draws: Uganda Hippos get hosts Mauritania in Group A

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in AFCON U20